The streak has ended

The streak has finally ended … all thanks to a leaky site 😦 Boo. Oh well, it was fun while it lasted! 🙂 I had checked my blood sugar Sunday night before dinner, and it was 207 – what the…? I only had a tuna sandwich and Sun Chips for lunch and I accounted for every carb. So I bolused for dinner (with a correction built in there) and enjoyed every carb-filled bite of my corny dog. Then at bedtime I was 259. Huh? So I looked at my site and it didn’t look bad, or feel damp, but then when I started thinking about it … I couldn’t remember what day I’d put it in … which means it had been too many days. (I think I was actually on day 6 or 7 – which insert obligatory disclaimer here is not recommended by the FDA, btw.) Once I pulled the site, it was very damp under the tape .. which means I had a leaky site. I shouldn’t have been surprised. It had definitely been in there for too long.

So I corrected for the 259 and then went to bed (again, not a good idea. And I’m ‘bout to tell you why.)

I remember waking up a few times through the night a little sweaty .. but I didn’t think too much about it. I had taken off my cgm the night before because the sensor ended, and I didn’t want to wait for the 2 hour calibration, so my plan was to put it back on in the morning. Wish I’d had it on, though.

At 5 am I woke up again, this time more alert, and I was drenched. The ‘hair plastered to my head’ and ‘stuck to the sheets’ kinda drenched. Gross. I reached over to get my meter and my hubby heard me and asked if I need anything. “Yes, I think I need a juice box, please.” I usually keep one on the nightstand but the only one that was there now was the empty one from last night. :/

He came back to see a 47 on my screen. Ruh roh. He asked if I needed anything else. “Yes, a banana please.” I knew if I went into the kitchen myself (which I could have done at this point) I would have eaten everything in sight to get my sugar back up quickly, and I was trying to avoid that.

Drank my juice and ate my banana … and finally started to feel better. And then came the chills. Not sure if anyone else does this, but I’ve only remembered it happening 3 or 4 times in the last 20 years. Last time was at camp a few months ago. I crawled back under my sheets (which were still damp) and started shivering. I had sweated so much that by the time I stopped sweating, I got cold. VERY cold. Chilled to the bone kinda cold. I finally got up to take a hot shower – and that helped, but didn’t make me completely warm again. Got out of the shower and put on my winter (thick, long sleeve) robe. And I live in Texas where it’s triple digits every day – so this was way out of character (the norm) for me. (Or anyone in their right mind for that matter lol)

Got to work and checked my bg so I could eat my oatmeal.. and I was 186. *sigh*

Just another day in the life …. 😉

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on since 1998, as well as the Dexcom CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The streak has ended

  1. Scott E says:

    I hate those sweat-soaked sheets. It rarely happens, but when it does, boy is it uncomfortable! You never mentioned how you corrected for the 259 (which isn’t THAT bad, in my book!). New site? Syringe? Anything above the pump “recommended “correction (which I ALWAYS do, by the way). I’ll bet that when you pulled out the old one, the cannula “disturbed” the little pool of insulin that had formed beneath the skin, and that got absorbed as well as the correction. It’s part of the answer to the age-old question “where did the insulin go, if it didn’t lower my BG?”.

    OK, maybe I’m the only one who asks that question.

    • Shannon says:

      Good question indeed! I’d never thought about that, actually. I let my pump’s wizard do the correcting. I rarely override the wizard (that sounds funny when you think about it!)

  2. Karen says:

    Ugh ugh ugh, I HATE nights like that. 😦 I don’t often get the chills thing either, but when I do it sure isn’t fun. Oh, and I like Scott’s theory that insulin had pooled due to the bad site and then got released when you pulled the site. Makes a lot of sense to me.

Leave a comment