Pullin’ out the syringe

Something simple that I’d never done before (at least not since being on the pump) is give myself a correction with a syringe. Until yesterday.

I’d had my site in my thigh and it hurt pretty bad when I first put it in the other day (sometimes that just happens) but the site itself, once injected, wasn’t really bothering me. Then Wednesday night it started burning. And yesterday morning’s bolus hurt BAD. So bad that I was driving and hit the steering wheel and said “Owwwwww!” (luckily I was alone in my car .. lol) I knew it was almost time for a site change, so I was trying to hold out till I got home from work, which should time out pretty well with when my reservoir would be closer to empty (I don’t want to poke unnecessary holes if at all possible.)

But mid-day I saw my site and saw red. Blood was inside the clear part, which meant it was very likely in the cannula. My sugars seemed to be fine. In fact I was 59 at lunchtime, so obviously I was getting enough (too much) insulin.

By mid-afternoon.. I was in the 270s. Uh oh. And I had a very low carb lunch.. so I knew it wasn’t anything I’d eaten that shot it up like that. I used my pump’s wizard to correct the high .. then checked again an hour or so later, still in the 270s. I knew a site change was moving up on my agenda. Problem was, I was still at work and had to pick up the kids before heading home, so it was going to have to wait a little while (yes, I know I should have an “emergency bag” with me, with site changes … and I do have one of those. Just didn’t happen to have it WITH me.)

So I finally got home…. Still in the 270s (actually I was surprised it wasn’t even higher by then) so I took out my old site. It wasn’t a gusher like I’d expected, but there was definitely blood in the cannula. Found the culprit.

I knew using my bolus wizard wouldn’t help because the pump THINKS I’ve had a lot more insulin than I’ve really gotten … so I did the next best thing, and turned to my pals in the DOC. Asked a simple question of “If you do a correction w/ a syringe.. How do you know how much to give? Don’t want to over/underestimate” And I got a ton of replies – thank you all!! It helped. A LOT. I honestly had no idea how much to go with. So I cut it down the middle and went with Scott’s suggestion of 6. It worked like a charm. 🙂 I also used Maria’s suggestion of “1u for every 50 mg/dl over 140, plus an extra unit or two if bg is over 250.” That ended up getting me to my final decision of 6u as well. Thanks again!!

20120810-103929.jpg

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

