Great week!

I have had a pretty perfect week as far as my diabetes is concerned. My sugars did not rise above 130 and that was only one time after having a bite or two of pizza (not even a whole slice!). But the majority of the week, I’ve spent between 80 and 110. Which is unheard of for me. But I am loving it! That’s the numbers of a person who has a working pancreas. 😉 The only thing I can assume is that my pancreas decided to spit out some insulin over the course of the week – silly noncommittal organ. 😉

As great as it is that I’m getting these awesome readings … it’s always in the back of my mind, waiting for the other shoe to drop. The numbers will inevitably go back to being sporadic, because that’s just the nature of the disease. No diabetic ever has a perfect week for weeks at a time – any and all factors play into those numbers, and you never really know what will/won’t affect it. Like I’ve said before, you can eat/do the exact same thing two days in a row, and you will not have the same blood sugars both of those days.

So it sucks that I can’t fully enjoy these good days (although I am very much enjoying it, but it’s so much more complex than that) without that smidgeon of dread for the days that I know are coming. It’s such a catch twenty-two. It would be awesome to be able to look at my number and not be surprised to see another great number, for a change. In a perfect world maybe 🙂

Below would appear to be the graph of a person with a fully functioning pancreas.  Except that it’s actually MY graph for the week, and as we all know, my pancreas went on hiatus 20 years ago.  Yay me! 😀

20120803-095114.jpg

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Great week!

  1. Scott E says:

    Yay you! I hate to rain on your parade, though, but do you really believe those CGM readings? I’ve had sensors that always report “in range” numbers while my meter tells me otherwise.

    Don’t wait for “the other shoe to drop”, though…. just enjoy it!

    • Shannon says:

      That’s the other twilight zone feeling of the week–my cgm has been almost identical to my finger sticks all week. It’s bizarre!! lol I didn’t even have to bolus for my dinner last night and still woke up at 103 today.

  2. Pingback: The streak has ended | No More Shots for Shannon

Leave a Reply

