Postprandial Spikes

You’d think after 27+ years with diabetes, I’d have this figured out by now. But I clearly do not.  Most recently I am struggling quite a bit with postprandial spikes.  Roller coaster spikes most of the time.

My Endo put me on Farxiga a couple of years ago which definitely helps.  But it still doesn’t quite bring it down enough.  I can most definitely tell a difference when I forget my Farxiga in the morning, though, so I know it is helping.

He tried me on Metformin but that didn’t do anything at all for me so I stopped taking it after a while.

I already exercise almost every day.  I eat mostly low carb foods. Even with that, it spikes more than what you’d think it should. But if I eat a “normal” carb meal …. I’m chasing that high the rest of the day/night.  Every morning I eat the exact same protein bar – 18g carbs and I will spike around 1-2 hours later.

I’ve thought about other things that *might* work?   Should I try to wait longer after taking my shot before I eat? Back in the day when I was newly diagnosed I took Regular insulin and would have to wait 30 min until I could eat.  But now I take Humalog and in theory I should be able to eat right away, but I’m wondering if that could be part of the problem. Worth a shot to try waiting longer.

I am on MDI right now, too, and if I were on a pump I would try doing an extended bolus for meals.  So when I’m back on the pump I’ll add that to the list of things to try.

I am already considered “insulin resistant” based on the amount of basal insulin I need every day, and my carb ratio.  But I don’t know what to do to even that out, either?

I am open to suggestions if anyone has tried something that worked for them?  Thanks in advance!

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on since 1998, as well as the Dexcom CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment