Sheltering in Place with Diabetes

Like the rest of the world I am working from home and have been for going on I think 5 weeks now?  I am home with my husband, who is self employed and our 3 children – the twins are in elementary school and our older son is in middle school (#goodtimes).

I would like to say that overall my diabetes is for the most part in good control and has been for a long time – I have days that are better than others, as I think we all do. But overall, before all of this happened, I had a fairly predictable day each day (I’m a creature of habit).  I woke up, checked my blood sugar, calibrated my Dexcom, took my Tresiba, helped my family get ready for their day, I grabbed a protein bar to eat on my 45 min commute to work.  Once I got to work, I would make a cup of Green tea with some Thieves and Lemon essential oils in it.  Lunch would depend on the day but it was pretty predictable, as was dinner.

Once the decision was made that we would begin working remotely all those weeks ago I thought wow this is going to be easy from a diabetes standpoint because everything will be the same, every single day, 7 days a week.

But for some reason my blood sugars didn’t get that memo apparently?   I’ve been running a lot higher than I would have thought I would. I’m not snacking an extraordinary amount – more than usual maybe but I’m for the most part bolusing for them and it’s not what I would consider a “lot”.   I’m eating pretty normal foods – still having my protein bar for breakfast, lunch and dinner vary, but if anything I’m eating more home cooked meals which typically yielded better results for me in the past because I knew exactly what I was eating.

I’m also exercising every day because .. well, because I have the time to do so. Consistent exercise always helps me have better control.

But again, for some reason my blood sugars aren’t getting that memo.

I am going to start writing down everything I am eating/snacking on, because maybe I’ll find that I’m snacking more than I think I am?  And for me at least, keeping a log of my food keeps me accountable. But something has to give. It’s worth a shot 🙂

It could be stress?  Trying to work full time while tag teaming school work with my husband for our 3 kids, while also doing “life” things (chores), that’s all a bit stressful. But I am VERY thankful to have a job where I am able to work from home during this time.

I’ve also dealt with some pretty severe sciatic pain the last week or so and I have learned just recently that intense pain can increase blood sugars, because of the adrenaline that’s released while the body tries to process the pain- I never knew this ..but I’ve never dealt with pain like this, so that’s a good thing I suppose.

It could be a combination of all of those things but I’m on a mission to try and figure it out. Stay tuned. 🙂

Has anyone else noticed any differences – good or bad – from sheltering in place while managing your diabetes?

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on since 1998, as well as the Dexcom CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment