Pies

Recently I was out of town on a business trip and couldn’t decide what I wanted for dinner. So I got in the car and thought I’d just drive around till I found something that sounded good.

I knew I didn’t want fast food, so when I passed by a popular cafeteria that rhymes with Tubies (lol) I decided that sounded great!

I even picked up a slice of sugar free chocolate pie to go with my dinner.  I used to eat at this chain all the time growing up and they always had really good sugar free/low sugar pies (disclaimer: under normal circumstances I do not typically eat sugar free foods … for reasons we all understand.)

I took a few bites of my dessert (for which I’d already bolused) and was more than underwhelmed.  It was downright nasty.  So I opted to not eat it and take my chances that I’d over swag’d my carbs to begin with.

Then the same guy who had been at the register walks by… with a tray full of desserts that he was giving away.   He asked me if I wanted one and I thought for a second and said, “Sure I’d love the coconut cream one. This sugar free one wasn’t so good.”

The guy hesitated then said, “Yea I almost said something when you’d bought it. I was going to ask you if you’d ever had it before.  It tastes like chalk.” HAHA!! But then he said, “But that one (pointing to the uneaten chocolate pie) is made for people that have diabetes.”  #ohboy

I looked up at him as I was grabbing my slice of coconut pie and said, “Well, I have diabetes and I’m going to eat this pie instead.  Besides, this one is better for me anyway.”  I took a bite and he had the most bewildered look on his face ….. HAHA

#itmakessenseifyouhavediabetes

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

