Smoothies

jetty-punchI enjoy a good smoothie. But I rarely ever drink them. I can probably count on one hand how many I’ve had in my life (that I didn’t make myself), or at least in the last 24+ years I’ve been diabetic. I think they scare me a little? So much unknown about what’s actually in them. If you look up the carb count in some of the larger chains’ smoothies, my goodness you’re looking at 100+ carbs in a lot of them. I know it’s because some of them have a lot of added sugar, and then the fruit adds up, too, but still. I’m not a huge fan of drinking all my carbs.

But today I tried one from a new place that was delivering to my office (I’m all about convenience, too.) I probably spent 30 minutes debating “Do I really wanna just SWAG this and probably get it wrong?” The smoothie I was looking at was a simple strawberry banana one. I avoided even looking at the ones with the added juice in it. And the instructions said you could substitute Splenda.

So I went for it. The nutrition info on their website said this particular smoothie was 86g. And then I ordered a 1/2 chicken salad sandwich, which was 32g. I was nervous to actually bolus for 118 carbs so I cut that in half (I know, I know- that’s why it’s called SWAG’ing) and I did a dual wave (60/40) bolus for 2 hours.

I stayed around 140-150 for the first 1.5 hours. Not too shabby! Then around the 2 hour mark, I crept up to 220. Then around 3 hours I dropped down to 120.

So overall I’ll call that a win. I’m very glad I didn’t bolus for full 118 carbs ’cause based on how my numbers played out, I can’t imagine that would’ve ended well. (YDMV) But at least now I know that I found a smoothie I don’t have to be afraid of 🙂

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

