Cases

What do you carry your diabetes supplies in?

Let’s discuss my history with cases for a moment. 🙂 I was diagnosed in 1992. And at the time, they admitted me in the hospital for a week so I could do inpatient “training” 3x a day to basically learn how to flip my life upside down and be diabetic. In a nutshell. But I digress.

Then they sent me home with this beauty of a case. It was big enough to hold it all – my meter (One Touch – which was ginormous compared to my tiny Freestyle I use now), my insulin, a freezer pack, syringes, alcohol wipes, glucose tablets, and pretty much a spare of anything I needed.

image

I used it for several years then gradually just started using the infamous black case. You know the one. The one that every meter comes in. So the only main difference is the size of said black case. The only thing you can really care in there is the meter, lancet device, and spare lancets. (Which those are pointless for most of us, considering we don’t change them, right? #likeyoudo)

img_0954

And I am terrible about not carrying insulin with me. I have what is in my pump reservoir, and my spare supply is almost always at home. When I was still on injections with syringes or pens, I just carried them loose in my purse. And I put the insulin vial in my black case with my meter. Not very secure or sanitary, though. But it’s what I did for years. And years.

Last year I decided to try a Myabetic case. I had kept hearing about them and they are SO stinkin’ cute. And I have a few friends that absolutely rave about theirs on Facebook and I wanted my own to love. 🙂 I first bought this one at Target. It was super cute, but I ended up taking it back. It was bulky and I just didn’t like the layout of it. It wasn’t functional for my needs/preferences. (Everyone is different – YDMV.)

Then I decided to bite the proverbial bullet and bought this one online. And I absolutely love the color. And I gave it a try. I carried it for a few weeks. But never took the tag off. I am a creature of habit, and I had 20+ years of “habit” with carrying my diabetes supplies around, and this was totally new. I loved the look of it.

But quickly I realized I didn’t like how big it was. And I wasn’t utilizing all of the space that was available. I missed the simplicity of my old black bag. That also is frayed and has holes in it.

img_0955

This is a total preference thing, but the main “issue” I had a hard time overcoming was that I was used to not having to take my meter out of the case to check my blood sugar. I can just unzip my case and the meter is strapped in. With the new Myabetic one, I had to take it out and well that was just an extra step I was trying to get used to. I switched back to the black bag after a couple of weeks.

Now don’t get me wrong – I LOVE the Myabetic cases. I LOVE the thought process behind it and I would love to try other versions of the case at some point. But I am very simple. And cheap. And it was difficult for me to spend that much money on a case I didn’t end up using. Not going to lie, that pretty blush Banting case is still sitting on my kitchen counter. Taunting me. Reminding me that I need to give it another try. And that I need to start carrying around supplies with me that I don’t carry on a daily basis. And I’m sure at some point I will. Or I’ll give in and try another version of the Myabetic case/bag. They look to be very functional, and like I said, I have several friends that couldn’t live without theirs. I hope to catch up to them one day! 🙂

I would love to hear your feedback on cases you’ve loved/hated or any thoughts/comments you have. Is anyone else out there simple like me? Or do I need to be better about moving along with the times and being ok with taking the silly meter out of the zipper pocket to check my blood sugar? 🙂

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cases

  1. I still use my One Touch Ultra Smart case, even though it now holds a VerioIQ meter. The Verio case was horrible. My kit previous to this one? Something I got during my initial hospital stay in 1984. The BD folding plastic kit that held two bottles of insulin, six syringes, with space for alcohol wipes behind the syringes. Wow – I loved that case, but that was back when the meter stayed home and I tested only once a day. I think the plastic eventually became brittle and wouldn’t stay closed.

    The clear strap in the Ultra Smart case that holds the meter in place long ago turned yellow and cracked apart. It didn’t work with the Verio meter anyway. The zippered mesh pouch on the left holds my Novolog bottle and BD needles (Lantus stays at home unless I an travelling) – still MDI after almost 33 years.

    The zipper needed some help from pliers to get it to zip properly. Some of the grey inner padding is showing through where the black felt has worn away at the edges. The black case still hides random drops of blood.

    The poker is still from my meter previous to the Ultra Smart – I even had to take it apart and fix it once. The lancet is circa 2001 (kidding…actually circa 2016).

    I contacted OneTouch to see if I could purchase a replacement, but unfortunately these cases are no longer available. I plan to use mine for as long as possible!

  2. Finding one that fits in my bag and looks masculine has been difficult for me. I hate black,, big and something that is not masculine looking. I love leather, functional and sturdy. The search continues. (likely forever)

    • Shannon says:

      I always wonder how guys do it. My friend, Scott, I believe told me know that he carries his meter in his jacket pocket. But maybe he will chime in here and tel us what he does when it’s summer time?

Leave a Reply

