Girly talk

Ok, guys, you may want to skip this particular post .. not because inappropriate, but because … well….. it won’t apply to you. 🙂 And the whole TMI thing…..

So having been diabetic now for 24+ years, it’s only been in the last year or so that I’ve noticed patterns in my blood sugars when it comes time for my monthly friend to arrive. Since I also have PCOS, I have never in my life had regular cycles. So I never knew when it was coming -and it was not uncommon for me to only have a cycle once or twice a year.

For some unknown phenomenon, I have been much more regular the last couple of years – my personal opinion is it is because I work around mostly women in my office. My OB/GYN said there are no scientific facts to back it up but it happens ALL the time that women who are in close proximity with one another will oftentimes “sync up”. So .. that’s what I’m gonna go with. As much as it did not suck to only have a cycle once or twice a year, it is better for our bodies to be more regular, so I’ll along with it.

But my point is … since I was so irregular, I never knew when it was coming, so I never could chart or plan or see any signs of it coming. And it was always a surprise. Which is super fun. #sarcasm About a year ago, not long after I started wearing my Dexcom, I started to notice a trend. I would consistently have unexplained lows for 4-5 days, then bam, I’d start. I’d stay low for the first 2-3 days, then I would start to creep back up and stay high for a few more days.

So once I figured this out, I started paying more attention to when I was having unexplained lows for more than a day or two. And so far it’s been spot on. #pardonthepun And it’s been kind of nice to have a heads up, so to speak, to know it’s coming. And since I also wear an insulin pump, I’ve learned to be able to adjust my temp basal. I decrease it pretty drastically in the beginning, then gradually have to increase it for several days till I level back out.

Just in time for it to start all over again.

Being female is no joke, y’all.

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Girly talk

  1. Karen says:

    Okay, I feel like I have a similar but kind of opposite problem. I’ve always been extremely regular, so I had my pattern down. But now? IT IS ALL CHANGING!!! Hello, peri-menopause. Hormones are crazy and unpredictable. Crazy cycles. Blood sugars are a mess. It’s like having to figure this stuff out all over again! Ugh, it’s a mess!!

    • Shannon says:

      It’s so odd to me how we are all so different, ya know? Like, it’s hormones. Why are your hormones any different than mine? I was talking with a friend that has a T1 teenage daughter. And her pattern is completely opposite from mine – she runs high a few days before, then runs low after she starts. Keeps us all on our toes, that’s for sure!

  2. type1pace says:

    Thanks for sharing! I notice a lot of lows the week before my period and a lot of highs (that won’t come down no matter how much I correct) during it. That’s life I guess. Not really fair though. Just another “fun” thing we get to deal with!

  3. As a male, I obviously do not have this issue. But I am a human and I have now lived with a woman for almost 40 years. What I have observed over those years is that I ned to just keep my mouth shut about these issues. Something I will do this time as well.

    see how I said nothing at all in 50 words? Proving of course that husbands can be taught.

Leave a Reply

