Sick Days

I started to come down with what I assumed was a cold Monday night – it hit fast, but it was the typical head cold symptoms – stuffy nose, cough, watery eyes. And I didn’t sleep much at all that night because I couldn’t breathe. Normally I can tell a couple of days early when I’m coming down with something, but not this time.

Last night, I gave in and took NyQuil just to relieve the symptoms long enough to let me sleep. Or maybe it’s so that it made me sleep through the symptoms. Who knows – all I know is I was able to finally sleep for a few hours. Today it’s moved to my chest and I feel like someone punched me. But I assure you they did not 😉

But as usual I cannot just be sick … without diabetes wanting to play a role and join in on the fun.

Last night I had to tell my husband to make sure his ringer on his phone was turned up loudly – in case I slept through any Dexcom alarms telling me my blood sugar was low. I had no idea what the NyQuil would do to my numbers, I haven’t taken it in years. They’ve been a little up and down, but nothing too crazy yet.

And I’ve also had to make sure I drink lots of water. Because it’s super easy to get dehydrated. And if I get dehydrated, then I can develop ketones. And ketones could put me in the hospital.

So not only do I deal with feeling super crummy with whatever is going on right now, I have to be even more diligent with managing my diabetes, because being sick can throw all kinds of curve balls at me.

I did make a doctor’s appointment for this afternoon, so I should be good as new in a couple of days. 🙂

#apeekintomylifewithT1

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sick Days

  1. Karen says:

    I’m sorry your sick but it sounds like you’ve got a good sick plan set up. Hope you’re feeling better soon!!

  2. Rick Phillips says:

    Being real person sick is awful. I am so sorry you are not feeling well. I hope you feel better soon.

    This item has been referred to the TUDiabetes Blog page for the week of November 7, 2016

Leave a Reply

