Nobody likes a know-it-all

halloween-candy1Last week I was talking with a co-worker about Halloween, and talking about favorite candies, desserts, etc. Another coworker came up and joined the conversation. I was still talking about candies I liked/disliked and then she said the dreaded, “Aren’t you diabetic?” Ugh. Here we go. Then she said, “Uh if you have diabetes, I’m pretty sure you aren’t supposed to be eating all that crap.”

To which I responded, “I wear an insulin pump and am in excellent control, so it’s ok to indulge occasionally.”

She said, “I’m pretty sure that wearing an insulin pump doesn’t give you cart blanch to eat whatever crap you want. I have known plenty of diabetics in my life, and I know what I’m talking about.”

Oh boy …

So I replied with, “Well, I’ve lived with it for 24 years, over half of my life, and I’m pretty sure that I also know what I’m talking about.”

Then she says, “Wait – do you have juvenile diabetes? Aren’t you a little old to have been diagnosed with juvenile diabetes?”

Seriously.

I realize some people are ignorant and just don’t know better … but it’s the ones that are ignorant and act like they know it all that drive me bonkers. #steppingoffmysoapboxnow

Happy Halloween! Excuse me while I go eat a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup.

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nobody likes a know-it-all

  1. Annelieke says:

    one Reese’s??? how about you eat 10 just to prove that you can?! You deserve it! And that co-worker deserves a lesson in diabetes and minding their own business….

  2. Rick Phillips says:

    Oh yeah, I was juvenile diabetic you will not believe what they are doing with technology these days. There is a new thing that I have that not allow me to react to dumb comments. Then Drop the mic and walk away.

    This item has been referred to the TUDiabetes Blog page for the week of October 31, 2016

Leave a Reply

