Dexcom battery

I wear the Dexcom G5 transmitter and I had a “first” happen last night. Usually, when the battery is starting to get low, I get alerts starting 2-3 weeks before the battery actually dies. It will say something along the lines of “battery is low, you need to replace in 2 weeks.” Then the alert will pop up once a week until you get the one saying that the battery is critically low and you need to replace now.

Well last night before I went to bed, I got the “critically low” message. But never got any of the preceding “warning” messages over the last couple of weeks. Then I woke up this morning and the battery was dead.

So I called the vendor from which I order my supplies and they told me that since it’s not been 90 days since I received the transmitter, that I would have to call Dexcom directly, because it’s likely a warranty issue, and they would not be able to replace it because of insurance not approving it until the 90 days had passed.

I called Dexcom and after being transferred to 3 different people, and explaining the situation to 3 different people (4, if you include the initial phone call to the vendor) the rep told me they would replace the transmitter. They will also be sending me a return envelope to return the transmitter that just died. And he also said that they would send me a replacement sensor since I had to pull out the one I was wearing when the battery died. That was definitely a nice touch. ‘Cause those things aren’t cheap. 🙂

All in all I was pleased with the customer service, and thankful that they are going to be able to replace it. In the meantime, until the new one comes in, I will have to go old school and prick my finger several times a day. I will miss having it on at night, because I have come to rely on the alerts for low blood sugars, but Up until a year or so ago, I was still going old school, so I’ll be just fine. 🙂

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dexcom battery

  1. Rick Phillips says:

    Dexcom was very good to send mine out almost immediately. i hope you get yours soon.

Leave a Reply

