Lows… and Pizza :)

Last night I had a wicked low (for some reason that phrase reminds me of you, Kerri!) .. I knew something was wrong when I was having a hard time focusing, and started to feel sick to my stomach. I was home alone with my 3 boys, and I was wearing my CGM, but sometimes things don’t always go as planned. And this one hit fast.

My CGM is almost always spot on, and I rely probably too much on it. It did alert me that I was dropping a little, but we had ordered pizza and I had just bolused to eat, so I knew that would come back up soon. (Side note I had done a 60/40 dual wave bolus over 3 hours – which usually works really well for pizza but YDMV. So I did not get all of my insulin up front.) But even when it was around 70-ish I still didn’t feel “right”. So I ate 3 glucose tablets while I was getting the plates ready for my boys.

Several minutes later, I still did not feel right, and was starting to feel sick to my stomach, so even though my Dexcom said I was 63, I checked my finger and it said 50. And that was after I’d eaten 3 glucose tablets. Yikes. So I then drank a juice box fully expecting to rebound later, especially once the pizza that I had yet to consume kicked in.

I sat down in my recliner and one of my 3 year old twins came over to me and said, “Mommy, you ok?” (He could tell something was off.) I said, “Yes, mommy is fine. My blood sugar is low, so I don’t feel very good.” (Now, he’s 3. So he really has no idea what that means, but I was trying to be honest.) He then hugged me and said, “It’s ok, mommy. It’s ok.” I love my sweet boys. A little while later, he walked over to me and said, “Mommy are you still low?” Again.. he had no idea what that meant. But he knew that it didn’t make me feel good.

Now in the middle of all of this, I notice that my Dexcom is hurting – and it never hurts. But I had just re-taped it earlier that day because it was starting to get a little loose, so I imagine that the sensor had pulled out of my skin some, and that would explain the inaccuracy of not catching that low. So I pulled it out, and never got a good snapshot of whether or not I rebounded. Around 3am I checked and I was in the 160s so I’ll call that a success. 🙂

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lows… and Pizza :)

  1. Karen says:

    Oh wow!!!! Sorry to hear about that. 😦 I’m glad you’re okay – and your sons are adorable!!

Leave a Reply

