Type One Nation Summit 2016

Last weekend I was able to attend a Type One Nation Summit, hosted by my local JDRF chapter. I’ve attended the event in the past – and it’s always been a good time. This event did not disappoint. I do not get the opportunity to attend many events with other Type 1s. Mainly because there are just not many opportunities here locally. I can’t even explain the awesomeoness of the camaraderie that I feel when I attend these events. Being a room of people that get it. That get me.

My mom asked me if I learned anything new. I’ve lived with Type 1 diabetes for almost 24 years now, and I feel like there is always something new to learn – new technology, new tips/tricks, new information about food/exercise. People have told me “You take such good care of yourself – you really know what you’re doing.” And in all honesty, I have no idea what I’m doing. Every single day is different. I can do the same thing two days in a row, and have two different graphs of my bg’s to show you. But I take it day by day and do the best I can. 🙂

I enjoyed meeting with some of the vendors, making new friends, and I enjoyed the speakers this year. Two of them happened to be friends that I met through the DOC. I’ve been lucky enough to have met Kerri IRL a couple of times already (ironically enough, the first time we met in person was at this event, when I traveled to a different city several years ago) And I sat in on two of her sessions – one talked about the emotions of living with diabetes, and the other was life after diagnosis. Both were very relevant, and both had very real topics brought up. I loved being a room where we felt safe and could ask real life questions. And there were tears, and that was ok. We all got it, and we all understood. And nobody judged anyone.

I also sat in on Melissa’s session about diabetes technology. This girl knows her tech. It was super exciting to hear her talk about some of the new things coming down the pipeline, and to give updates on where some of the big names are with their current technology.

When I leave these events it always makes me want to do more. And to attend more events. And to tell my story. And to hear other’s stories. It’s so encouraging and uplifting. Even amidst the tears. I need to figure out how to make that happen. And by putting it in my blog, you can hold me accountable to make sure it happens.

Like the dog behind us, we have no idea what we are doing.

Like the dog behind us, we have no idea what we are doing.

Loved spending the day with these two!!

Loved spending the day with these two!!

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

