What the high?

I feel like I’ve been on a roller coaster today… I woke up at 2am with a low blood sugar (66 – thank you, Dexcom alarm!) and stayed up till it came up to the 90s. Then was 155 when I got (back) up for the day. Ate my normal protein bar for breakfast – same thing I have almost every week day (yea, I know, I know. But by the time I get my 3 boys out the door and 2 of them dropped off at daycare, and get ready to sit in traffic to head to work, I need to eat on the go.)

And an hour or so after I ate, I felt super tired and looked at my CGM. I was almost 400! I thought surely that was wrong, so I double checked with a finger stick, and yep – I was 372. There was absolutely no reason for that. I knew the exact carbs, and I eat that same thing every day and it never shoots me up like that.

First thing I checked was that my pump site was attached all the way (it happens) – it was fine. Did not feel any insulin around the site – did not smell bandaids (#itmakesesenseifyouhavediabetes) I even checked my pump to make sure I did bolus for my breakfast – and yep, I did.

I corrected it with my pump and crossed my fingers it would work. And finally, it did start coming down.

But I hate when things like that happen for no reason. It’s like diabetes just wants to jack with me for the heck of it. But at the end of the day (well, it’s not the end of this day just yet) I won, and got back in range. πŸ™‚ #takeTHATdiabetes

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What the high?

  1. Patti Burke says:

    I love to hear stories like this! Only because the same happens to me and I always wonder what I did wrong! The fact is that you can do everything right and it still happens! Thanks so much for sharing!

    • Shannon says:

      Thanks for the reply– and yes, we can do everything right, and things can still not go like they should! I knew I didn’t do anything “wrong” yesterday but it drove me crazy that there wasn’t a reason for it. Just thankful it finally came back down πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

