Thankful for do-overs

Some days I feel like I have this diabetes thing figured out … and some days I definitely do not. Yesterday was one of the days that I clearly did not have it all figured out. And felt like diabetes had control of me, instead of the other way around.

I was fine until lunchtime when we ordered Pei Wei in at work. I do not eat a lot of Asian food, because it always makes me go high – no matter how much I bolus for. (YDMV) But it was a team lunch, and I didn’t finish the rice, trying to cut back on some of the carbs. But an hour later I was over 400. And I wasn’t coming down. Luckily, I had brought my “go pack” with me that had an extra site change in it – which, I am not good at carrying with me to work at all, but I am so thankful I did have it.

I ended up doing a correction with a syringe, and also changed my site in a bathroom stall at work (I’m sure the person in the next stall thought I was playing a video game, with all the beeping that was going on.) After a couple more hours, I finally had a down arrow on my CGM. But boy, was I tired. And thirsty.

Fast forward to the evening. I was in the high 100s but manageable. Had dinner with my kids (husband was en route home from a business trip) and around 10pm I corrected for my bg to bring me back into range. The settings are standard and are pre-programmed into my pump.

At 2am my husband wakes me up and I open my eyes to him standing over me, opening up a juice box. He said, “Your Dexcom is saying you’re 46- you need to drink this juice.” What’s odd is I almost always wake up when I’m low. But this time I didn’t. But I felt “fine” so I asked him to bring me my tester because I was sure I wasn’t THAT low (which should have been on my nightstand, but it was in the kitchen.) He did, and I was 41. And once my brain knew I was truly that low, that’s when I started feeling it – sweating, shaking, panic mode almost set in. I sat up in bed and downed the juice box. Then I looked at my phone and I had 4 missed texts and a missed call and voicemail from 2 friends that are able to see my Dexcom data and get alerts when I am going too low. One of these friends is on the East coast so it was super early for her (sorry bout that, Karen!) I immediately texted both of them back and let them know that Dan had woken me up and that I was ok. Then I drank a 2nd juice box because I was not coming up fast enough. I ended up coming up to 93, but I was a little scared to go back to sleep until I knew for sure I was not going to go low again.. So needless to say, coffee is my friend this morning.

Now, I do have an alarm on my phone as well – in case you’re wondering why everyone else was getting the alarms but me. I use the Dexcom G5 and a downside to only using my phone and not the transmitter, means that if my phone is on silent (which it was last night), then I do not hear the alarms. Lesson learned.

But that could have had a very different outcome. Had my husband not been home, I do not know how much lower I would have gone. Or when/if I would have woken up. That is a scary thought, and it is every diabetic’s worst nightmare. But this was a happy ending, and this morning I had a beautiful 117 on my screen and it’s a brand new day. And for that, I am thankful for the do-over.

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thankful for do-overs

  1. Karen says:

    No worries about the time, I didn’t mind at all. But I will admit I started to panic when you didn’t answer the texts or the phone call. Thank goodness Dan was home and woke you up!!!

    But yeah, all in all, diabetes is crap and it just plays by whatever rules it wants to. But I got your back!

Leave a Reply

