Clips

I’ve been pumping on and off since 1998… and it’s always been with a Medtronic pump. I don’t remember ever having issues with the clips before, but it seems like I’m going through them pretty quickly lately – not sure if the quality is less or what? I’m not an athlete, and definitely not rough on my pump. I usually don’t even have to replace my pump when the warranty expires after 4 years, because they’re still in really good shape.

I posted about it on Twitter a year or so ago and Medtronic saw my post and mailed me a new one (thanks!) But the same thing happened again a couple of weeks ago – where my clip snapped off- I happened to be standing in a parking lot with my 2 year old twins, and my 8 year old. And then you have that “pull” feeling when your pump goes flying off of you – felt like it was in slow motion, but the yank feeling of it reaching the end of the tubing, and swinging back and forth from my body, did NOT feel like it was in slow motion. 😉 So then I have that momentary thought of “Crap that hurts and I need to pick it up before it yanks itself out of my stomach, but I have to get my kids in the car first so they are safe.” *Knock on wood* I’ve been lucky enough so far that it hasn’t actually ripped off my site. (Because I’m not great about carrying around an extra site change with me all the time.)

So for the time being I am having to wear pants that have pockets. Yes, I know that I could put it in my bra, or get a band.. but I’m used to wearing it clipped to my pants. And when it’s in my bra, then it gets sweaty (you know it’s true) and it’s not exactly convenient to access. Especially when I’m at work all day. But I’m making do with what I have 🙂 It definitely made me realize that diabetes is playing a part in another facet of life, though, down to the type of clothes I wear. I’m even wearing different pj’s at night – I have a pair of pajama pants that have pockets, so I’ve been wearing those. Because again, normally I clip my pump to pj pants or underwear.

I know these are #firstworldproblems and I’m not complaining, just noting that there’s always more to the story – especially on why I haven’t worn my favorite black slacks (that happened to not have pockets) to work in the last two weeks. 😉

PS – I did contact Medtronic this week to discuss getting a new pump, because the warranty expired on my current one last year – and I wanted to get a different color this time. I’ve had purple since ’07 and my 8 year old asked if I could switch to the blue one. 🙂 I asked the representative about getting a new clip for my current one, since it will take a couple of weeks before my new one comes in, and she referred me to the online store. I tweeted to ask if anyone else was having problems and Medtronic immediately replied to my tweet apologizing and asking me to email them and they’ll replace it. They also mentioned that they are working on the quality of the clips to make them more durable. As I mentioned, I have been a Medtronic pumper for almost 20 years, and they have by far the best customer service of any company I’ve ever worked with – diabetes and non-diabetes related. Always very impressed with their ‘take care of the customer’ philosophy.

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

