Traveling Thoughts

Something that I didn’t realize until I found the DOC almost 4 years ago now … was how much traveling can affect our blood sugars. I mean like the literally being in an airplane part of traveling. I used to travel with my old job all the time. And I honestly never paid much attention to the consistent highs I would get. Then I started reading other blogs and realized what the problem was. (duh)

So now I know that I need to give myself a temp basal before the flight starts, and to drink lots of water beforehand, to try and not get dehydrated.

This weekend my hubby and I flew to Atlanta for a quick getaway to visit some friends. It’s a 2ish hour flight, and before our flight left on Friday, I gave myself a 120% temp basal, and drank a lot of water before and during the flight. When we landed, my numbers were just about perfect. In the 140s. I’ll take that as a success. Also had to remember to change my time on the pump itself since I was now on EST.

Then on the flight home yesterday, I did the same thing – set a 120% temp basal, and drank lots of water. But this time I couldn’t get out of the high 200s. and I started in the same range both times. Same exact scenario, yet a totally different outcome.

Diabetes is a guessing-game-crap-shoot most times. What works perfectly one time, may not work at all a second time. All we can do is the best we can do, and keep trying.

Also notable that all airports seem to be different when it comes to their practices. I have found that most airports allow me to go through that big machine that turns a circle around me. Then I step out of it, have to touch my pump, and they swab my hands. Then they put the swab into a machine that tells them it’s not a bomb I guess, then I’m released to go about my traveling. But yesterday when we were flying out of Atlanta, I told them I had on a pump and couldn’t go through the x-ray machine – so they sent me through that big round one. And I immediately showed my pump, and touched it so they could swab my hands. The TSA agent said “Oh we don’t do that anymore.” What? The other TSA agents just did it on Friday. Strange. But it got me through there faster, so I didn’t argue 🙂 (And disclaimer – I know a lot of people do not go through either machine, and choose the pat down method. I personally have not experienced any issues going through the large round machine, but YDMV.)

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

