“You ok, Mommy?”

My 2 year old twins are now starting to see my diabetes … they of course don’t understand it yet, but they are paying attention. Lately, every time I check my blood sugar, one of them will ask me, “You ok, Mommy?”

Or when they see me change my insulin pump site, they ask, “You ok, Mommy?”

Or when they see me change my Dexcom sensor, they ask “You ok, Mommy?”

And I make a point to never grimace or say “ouch” (out loud) when I do either of those things, but I think they are paying such close attention to every single thing I do/say, that they recognize that what I’m doing might hurt. They’ve never seen an actual needle go in me, not that they would understand at this point if they had.

My boys also love my Dexcom. And when they hear it beep, they know where to go to get it for me. They call it “Mommy’s Neck Bomb” HAHA Sounds kinda like the word Dexcom, right? 😉

I’ve said this many times before… that part of me hates that my kids have to be exposed to diabetes. But I also appreciate the fact that they will all grow up knowing what it is, so that’s at least 3 less people in this world that will believe the myths associated with it 😉 My 7 year old has had teachers in the past tell me that if he hears something about diabetes, he will say that his mommy has diabetes. And he LOVES going to the JDRF walk every year. He has always called it the “diabetes walk”. I hope my twins enjoy it as much as he always has. This past weekend I went to my 23rd walk!

2015 JDRF Walk

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

