Lemons out of Lemonade?

In the past 30 days, I’ve had two different friends reach out to me because a family member has had a young child diagnosed with Type 1. One was a 7 year old girl, and the other is a 6 year old boy.

Both of them were families I did not know. But via the applicable friend that approached me, I reached out to these moms and introduced myself, and offered support. Have I ever been in their shoes? No. But I do know what it’s like to LIVE with diabetes. And to have it come in and flip your world UPside down. And if nothing else, I can be an ear for them to talk to, cry to/with, vent to, ask questions, whatever they need.

Do I like having diabetes? Not even a teensy part of me likes it. But my perspective has always been to turn a positive into a negative, so if I can help, even in the slightest way, another person to see that there IS a light at the end of the tunnel – and to be an example that their child CAN live a perfectly normal life, and have a family in the future, then to me it’s worth it.

I heard a speaker this morning at a MOPS event say that suffering helps us to minister and be a support to others that are suffering. So I look at it like that – if I was not living with diabetes, then I would not be able to support others that are also living with it. So everything I’ve gone through in the last 23 years, is currently helping people that I did not even know I would know. (…that sounds like a scene from “Friends”…)

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lemons out of Lemonade?

  1. Richard T says:

    Hi Shannon, thank’s for sharing your experience. A lot of times when people face a troubling situation like a child being diagnosed with diabetes, they freeze in fear. It’s great that you helps to appease some of their worries and just to provide encouragement. Thanks again for sharing!

    • Shannon says:

      Thanks for the encouraging words, Richard! When I was dx’d, I did not know anyone that had it, and I know now as an adult, especially, that having someone around me that GETS it .. .would have been helpful. So if I can provide even an ounce of that to someone else, it would make me happy 🙂

Leave a Reply

