Team CGM

I cannot say enough times how thrilled I am with my new Dexcom. I love everything about it. I have friends (*ahem* Suzanne*) who have been telling me for years I should give it a try – but I couldn’t mentally get past the idea of having to carry around two separate devices. I knew I’d have to wear two sites – I was already doing that (well, when I wore my old one) but keeping up with a separate device just did not interest me. But honestly, that has not been bad at all. When I’m home, it sits on my kitchen counter by my meter, and it still picks up my readings no matter where I am in my house. When I leave, I put it in my purse. And at night, I put it on my nightstand so I can hear the alarms. I’ve even taught my 7 year old to be able to look at my BG on the screen, and also to silence the alarm when I know I’m high and it’s not yet down enough to not give the alarms anymore.

I have been using the case that came with the Dexcom when I need to wear it on me (when I don’t have my purse with me – which isn’t often, since I have to carry so many other diabetes supplies) and I’m not a fan of it, so I just ordered my first Tallygear case – much cuter and I like that it can just hook on anything pretty much. So I’m excited to get it!

My husband was recently traveling out of the country, and my Dexcom alarm went off saying I was 55. I thought surely that was wrong because I did not feel low at all. I checked it and sure enough – it was 60. Around that same time, I got a text from my husband – who as I just mentioned, was on a separate continent – asking if I was ok. He’d gotten the alarm on his phone that I was low (Don’t worry – he was on wifi so it’s all good.) #WeAreNotWaiting

Made me realize again just how cool this technology is. And how incredibly fortunate I am to have it. The Share feature was one of the selling points to me wanting the Dexcom, but I have fallen in love with all the other features of it, too. The Share feature is just a bonus in my book.

When I have to calibrate, and I don’t have the data for 2 hours, I feel lost. It’s crazy. I used to go months in between wearing my old CGM and how I can barely go two hours. My dr told me at my last appt that he doesn’t see how someone can effectively manage their diabetes without wearing a CGM. I get where he’s coming from, but I know that there are many people who are very diligent with their diabetes management and are perfectly capable of doing it without the use of a CGM. But for me, personally, I can’t imagine going back to not using one. But YDMV. 😉

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Team CGM

  1. Ryan from DiabetesDailyGrind says:

    The experience of not thinking you’re actually low but then being low warrants the CGM completely! Totally agree. Love mine too. Thanks for the thoughts.

  2. Pingback: CGM Dilemma | No More Shots for Shannon

Leave a Reply

