Endo Appt Update

I am still loving my new Endo! Saw him yesterday and the appt went very well. I love that he listens to my questions and gives me suggestions. And seems very thorough. I know some of you might be thinking, “Aren’t all doctors like that?” I speak from experience, that no, they are not all like that.

The first thing they checked was my a1c. It was down .2 from my last appt. Not a huge decrease but it’s a decrease nonetheless and it’s still in a perfectly good range, so I was happy with it. I credit a lot of that to my Dexcom.

My bg was 93 when she checked it – which that never happens. It’s almost always a little up at my appt (Murphy’s Law) but I made myself a green smoothie for breakfast a couple of hours earlier, so I’m sure that helped. 😉

They checked my blood pressure – this was one thing I’d wanted to talk to him about. It was 109/69. I’ve been on blood pressure meds since I was 19. My first Endo had put me on it not because I had bp issues but because I was having kidney issues (this was 1 year since my dx) and this particular drug was also known to help with kidney function, as well as being a bp med… so I went on it. And over the years, I did start to have high blood pressure (140/90ish) so I’ve been on one brand or another for 20 years.

Last weekend my hubby and I went on a weekend getaway and I’d forgotten to take my bp meds. I felt fine. The day after we came home, I took it and my bp dropped – I felt super dizzy and seeing spots, etc. Checked it at home and it was low (116/60-something). That’s not super low, but it’s low for me. The only thing different was that I’d taken my pill, so I opted to not take it for the next few days since I knew I had my appt coming up. So I was super excited when they checked it and it was perfectly normal. He and I talked about it, and he said let’s stop taking it and just check from home a few times a week to make sure it’s not creeping back up.

I also talked to him about my upcoming trip to London. I leave in 2 1/2 weeks and needed a letter for travel, and had questions about what to expect from a time zone change, to the walking, etc. He said he wouldn’t be surprised if I didn’t need to lower my basal by at least 20% with all the walking. And to just carry plenty of snacks/glucose with me. Check.

He also felt my thyroid and asked again when I’d had my last biopsy on the large nodule I have. It’s been about 3 1/2-4 years ago so he wanted to do an ultrasound to take a look at it. I hate those moments because you don’t know what the dr is looking at. After he was finished, he did show me everything he’d done/seen/measured. He doesn’t have the original lab results from the biopsy (I need to send them to him) but he measured it, and also said it looks like a new nodule is forming off of the big one. So he measured that one, too. And said we’ll keep an eye on it, but he’s not concerned. Said if it continues to grow, he will likely send me in for another biopsy just to make sure it’s ok, and then discuss removal. But I was immensely relieved that he wasn’t concerned. 🙂

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Endo Appt Update

  1. Richard T says:

    It’s always great to have a doctor that shows they are interested and that they care. It becomes really disheartening when you see a doctor that is not engaged with the patient. Thanks for sharing your positive experience with your new endo!

Leave a Reply

