Full circle?

I have been trying to reorganize my diabetes supplies. My upcoming trip to London prompted this, but I’ve realized overall I need to be more organized. And where better to start than my diabetes supplies that I access every single day??

I currently have a Vera Bradley cosmetic bag where I keep my go to items. One infusion set, the inserter, a reservoir, my insulin vial that I’m currently using, AAA batteries for my pump, a variety of tapes, prep pads, etc. It’s the bag I grab when it’s time for a site change.

image

I’ve been using this for a couple of years now and it works fine. But as you can see, it’s pretty messy.

And when I travel, I have a pink Libby Lu drawstring backpack that was my step daughter’s that I’ve been using for about 10 years now- I just load it with all my extra supplies and put it in my carry on bag. Again, not very organized.

I’ve been looking into several options for daily storage, as well as something efficient for traveling. My first thought was Myabetic– those cases are awesome. But it looks like they’re geared more toward storing MDI supplies, and not as much for pump supplies – those infusion sets and inserters take up a lot of room!

Then my friend, Sarah, told me she uses a cosmetic bag from Initials Inc. It looked really good so it’s still an option.

I have been known to overthink things too much. 😉

Well, tonight I remembered that I still have my very first case that I was given in the hospital almost 23 years ago when I was Dx’d. It was ginormous to carry everywhere I went. I carried my meter, bottle of test strips, syringes, a vial of insulin, a freezer pack that I had to remember to freeze when I was at home, ketone strips, alcohol wipes.. It was a lot. And it was huge. I always carried huge purses so it would fit.

But now I’m thinking it might actually work for my go to bag vs the cosmetic bag I currently use?? Wouldn’t that be ironic to come full circle.

I put my current meter next to it for size reference.

image

image

And here it is with almost all my go to supplies that I mentioned above – the only hing that won’t fit is my inserter, which could be a problem because I can’t put on a new infusion set without it. :/

image

I’m still open to suggestions if anyone has any? Favorite way to store your “go bag” that carries all your go to supplies, as well as any efficient tips you have for traveling with all your supplies, specifically pump supplies.

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

