Random much?

One of my 2 yr old twins has been sick and recently I took him to an after hours pediatric clinic.

After we’d given him two breathing treatments, the dr was sitting in front of me (with my son in my lap) and we were going over the “what to watch fors” and out of the blue this happens ..

Dr: So a lot of times I have patients ask me how to know if their child is diabetic. And I always tell them to test their blood sugar when the child is sick. That’s when to test.

Me: Uh … that’s random.. I’m diabetic?

Dr: I know. I saw your insulin pump. So anyway, I always tell the parent if there’s any doubt, it’s always best to test when the child is sick. I know people say it’s good to get fasting blood sugars, and what not, but I’m telling you, the time to check is when the child is sick.

Me: Uhh … ok. Well I’m not concerned about him having diabetes at this point. Just here for the pneumonia. 😉

Dr: Oh I know. Just thought I’d share that with you in case you ever have any doubts.

Can you say random? I thought that was odd. I’m sure he meant well. But it was a very random, very odd conversation. I may have been sleep deprived from my sick child not sleeping because of his cough for a couple of days, but I felt like he was acting as though he was an expert, because he was qualified to work in an after hours pediatric clinic. I left the conversation by assuring him that I’ve been diabetic for 22+ years and I’m pretty confident I’d know what symptoms to look for, but thanked him for his suggestion. 🙂

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

