Is diabetes dangerous?

This weekend, my family and I were sitting in our church’s Easter service, and out of the blue, my 7 year old looks up and me and says, “Mommy, is it true that diabetes is dangerous?”

Now, he of cours knows I have diabetes. And that I wear an insulin pump. And he knows what insulin is, and that I need it. And that sometimes I have to pause what we are doing because I have to drink a juice box. And that sometimes I may be a little more cranky than other times (if my bg is high). It’s always been a part of his life. But he caught me off guard with his question, and I wanted to find out more about where this was coming from, but decided that in the middle of singing at church was not the best time. 😉

So at bedtime that night I asked him what made him ask me that. He said again, “Is diabetes a dangerous disease?” I answered, “Well, yes, it can be. But so can many other diseases — why do you ask?” He said at school (in science, I assume?) they were talking about diabetes, and the teacher said it was a dangerous disease. I’m not sure how I felt about this because I’m assuming the conversation was something along the lines of eating healthy to avoid having diabetes, but since he didn’t take it there, I chose not to go there.

As I was tucking him in and saying our prayers, I told him that it can be very dangerous for people that do not take care of themselves. But assured him that I take really good care of myself, and I take my insulin, and check my blood sugars, and I eat fairly well … and tried to reassure him that he does not need to worry about me.

I face the same fears that a lot of other diabetics face, but I was not going to put that worry onto him .. so I think I successfully nipped it in the bud and assured him by my words, and by setting an example, that I am doing just fine.

For as long as I can remember since I was diagnosed, I have said that if I was destined to have an incurable disease, at least I have one that I can control. And I still believe that wholeheartedly. As much as feasibly possible, my fate is in my own hands. And I choose to take care of myself so I can be here to watch my boys grow up. 🙂

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Is diabetes dangerous?

  1. Pingback: Diabetes talk with my 7 year old | No More Shots for Shannon

Leave a Reply

