And we have a winner!

I’ve not had the best luck finding Endos ….. It would be an understatement to say the last one I saw was NOT a good fit. After that appointment, I had a few different local friends recommend the same doctor, and one friend (Shout out, Krista!) reached out to tell me how much she loves her Endo, and she drives a pretty good distance to see him. He was very hands on when she had her baby recently, and listens to her, and is current on new/upcoming technology, etc. Figured it was worth a shot try try him out.

I called last Thursday to see when his next available appointment was – she said July. Then she said “Oh wait – we had a cancellation for tomorrow, can you come in tomorrow?” Why, yes, I sure can. It was Good Friday and my office was closed, so that worked out perfectly.

From the minute I walked into the office, I had a good feeling. The staff was very friendly. It was such a different experience than with the last doctor (my last appointment I waited an HOUR to be called back.) The nurse called me back, and she checked my blood sugar, and put it in the A1C machine (my last doctor did not check my bg once or even discuss my pump settings or blood sugars- lets his CDE handle all of that – and I do not have a standing appt with her, just see her “as needed”.)

And the first great news I had was that my A1C had come down in just the last few weeks – it had gone up after all my unexplained highs lately, and they’ve been perfect the last 3-4 weeks. I know that there is usually some discrepancy between a blood draw A1C and the machine in the office, but I was still happy to have seen a lower number (0.6 pts lower).

The nurse then puts me in a room and checks my blood pressure (it was perfect) and asks me a few questions. She was super friendly.

The dr came in after about 10 minutes, and actually walked in and shook my hand and introduced himself. (The last dr never made eye contact, nor did he ever talk TO me, I always felt like he was talking AT me.)

We talked about my pump settings, my blood sugars.. my current medications. He asked some questions about my history. Asked me my opinion on CGMs (he’s a huge proponent.) Asked me to rate my current Medtronic CGM (I have the older version – have had my same sensor for 8 years!!) He asked me if I’d ever considered trying a Dexcom – which I found very ironic because it’s been on my mind a LOT lately to try it out. I even tried making phone calls last week to see if I could test one (called my old Endo, and shocker – they never called me back.) Then he told me that he has one I could wear for a week, if I wanted to try it out? What?? That is PERFECT. He has a patient already signed up to wear it this week, but I should be able to have it by next week – I’m super excited! And I didn’t even have to ask for it. I’ve never had a choice in the devices I’ve used – when I was first put on the pump in ’98, I just went with the one that my dr at the time gave me (Medtronic) and that’s the one I went back to when I went back on the pump in ’07. I love my pump, and tried another brand once, and did not like it, so I went back to Medtronic. I’m not looking to switch pumps, but I am definitely open to trying out Dexcom for the CGM portion of it.

So then he almost threw me a curve ball because he mentioned that he has 100 patients currently on a trial, taking an off label drug called Farxiga to help control blood sugars. Uh oh. That was one of the final straws with the last doctor. But whereas the other dr made it all about me being overweight, and he wanted me to take it to lose weight, this dr made it about having better glucose control. But the best part – he asked me if I was interested, or would I rather wait until more data was collected. I told him I’d not like to participate at this point, but we can discuss down the road. He did not shove samples at me, or push me at ALL. So I’m not sure if this is something that’s truly trending under the radar with Type 1s or if Farxiga just has a really good sales rep in our area and is hitting up all the local Endos .. but I’m not willing to be a guinea pig at this point..

When we were wrapping up, he asked if I had questions. He asked if I needed refills. It was a completely different experience than with the last dr who just got up mid-exam and left to go see another patient.

He walked me to the checkout counter, said he’d like to see me in July for a follow up. And reminded the girl behind the counter to put my name on the list to be next in line for the Dexcom trial. Then shook my hand and said to call him if I needed anything.

I was telling my husband over the weekend that it’s been years (decades, maybe?) since I’ve left an Endo appt and not felt judged.

I was so giddy when I left that appointment, that I could have skipped to my car. But I didn’t. 😉

And best part – he didn’t call me fat/overweight even once. That alone makes him a winner in my book.

***Update: I received an email later the same day as my appointment, but I did not open it for a few days. It’s a patient portal – I can email questions/concerns, and see my medical history, my current medications, etc. WOW. I’m still in shock at the night and day differences between doctor’s care.

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to And we have a winner!

  1. Scott E says:

    I think I’m in love. How far is your endo from New Jersey… and does he still have room for more patients?

    • Shannon says:

      Haha Right?? I can’t even begin to describe how happy I was when I left that appointment. Giddy is truly the only word that kept coming to mind! Only took 22+ years to find this doctor!!

  2. Karen says:

    Yay!!!! Reading this makes me so happy. I know it has been a long and stressful journey, but I’m glad you’ve finally found a great fit!

  3. StephenS says:

    Shannon… you’re only now getting what you’ve deserved all along. Hope you have many wonderful appointments with this endo. Enjoy the Dexcom trial… I think you’re going to like it.

    Also, the patient portal… how nice is it to be able to reach your endo outside of your appointment? The real test is in the response time when you need something, but the portal is definitely the way things are going now. And congrats on the A1c!

  4. Pingback: Endo Appt Update | No More Shots for Shannon

Leave a Reply

