Sharing

I have seen a lot of posts lately about people using Night Scout and Dex Share .. and it looks so awesome to me. I’m not a very tech savvy person, admittedly. But I am home alone a lot with my young boys, as my hubby travels for work. To me, it would be comforting to know that no matter where he is, he could see my numbers at any given time, and he could get an alarm if I’m running too low (or high even). But more so for the low’s. I mentioned this to my mom, and she said she’d love to be able to have this on her phone, too.. but I’m not sure I’d let her do that – she tends to freak out as it is if I don’t answer the phone. haha

I have a Medtronic pump and CGM. And from what I’m finding out early on, it IS possible to use this technology if you don’t have a Dexcom, but it’s ‘easier’ with the Dex … ? And I also found out you have to have an Android device as the uploader, but you can view the data via an iPhone. Problem with that is my husband and I both have iPhones. I’m also not opposed to switching to Dex (assuming it’s even possible with my insurance) I just have a mental aversion to the thought of carrying 2 devices…

And I was talking to my husband more about this the other day and he had some valid comments/concerns.

He said if he was traveling, and saw that my number was low, and he called my cell and I did not answer, he wouldn’t know what to do – is it just that my ringer was off, or was I in the other room with the boys and just didn’t hear it? How long does he wait to freak out and call 9-1-1?

So maybe the weight would be put on to me to make sure to always have my phone close by, and not on vibrate .. but there’s always the off chance that wouldn’t happen.

So I see his point.

But I also think it would be reassuring to me to know that someone else could see that I may need help. It’s never happened since I’ve known him. I have only passed out once in the 22+ years I’ve been diabetic, and that was 15 years ago. But we all know it’s a possibility. So to know we had the technology that he could use- if I wasn’t answering the phone AND he saw on his phone that I was low .. that he could have options to call a neighbor/friend/my mom, etc. seems reassuring to me.

Going to have to ponder this one for a bit more. But still super intrigued. And excited about how far we’ve come in the last two decades.

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sharing

  1. Sarah says:

    I have the Dexcom Share system (Share built into the receiver) and the Nightscout setup, but there is a way to do it withouth the Android rig now. It’s how I have mine set up. With the use of the Share2Nightscout Bridge, it can pull the data being sent to the cloud from your iPhone’s Share2 app and send it to your Nightscout setup – in my case, it goes to my Nightscout and on my Pebble. It’s similar to how Nightscout it setup for so many now, but without the rig and wires, and for iPhone users 🙂 Message me if you need to ask anything 😀

  2. StephenS says:

    Shannon, I might reach out to people in the DOC (who you probably know already) who are using Nightscout or the Dexcom Share. When I saw Nightscout up close for the first time a couple of weeks ago, I was giddy. And I don’t even wear a CGM.

    If you need me to point you to someone, feel free to e-mail me and I’ll connect you.

    • Shannon says:

      I’ve reached out to a couple of people already — and on hold with Dexcom right now to see about trying it – would like to test it before committing to making the switch. Super psyched about the possibility but also like I said, I have a mental aversion to the idea of carrying 2 devices with me. We’ll see what happens!

  3. Pingback: And we have a winner! | No More Shots for Shannon

Leave a Reply

