Back on track

I hope to not jinx myself, but I *think* I’m back on track again …. in the last 48 hours, my blood sugars have been in the range of 68 – 129. HUGE improvement from how they’ve been lately. (And I’d like to point out that that is all MY doing and has NOTHING to do with Dr. Douchebag.)

I still have no idea why I was experiencing those highs. And I likely never will know. And yes, it did throw off my A1C last week. But I knew that was going to happen, so I was prepared for it. Good news is, it did not go up AS high as I’d prepared myself for … only .7 points, which isn’t too terrible, considering HOW high I was averaging for 3-4 weeks. And I’m still in a good range overall.

But the other good news is that my blood work overall was much better than it was 4 months ago. I tend to worry about my cholesterol, etc., but ALL of my numbers were not only down from last time, but all were in range. So I’m obviously doing something right. And for that I am HAPPY.

I’m still on the hunt for a new Endo, and I had a few local friends recommend a dr that they all spoke very highly about – so I’m probably going to try him out. And in the meantime, I’ve also spoken to Dr. Gary Scheiner about consulting with him so he can get my overall numbers cleaned up until I can get re-established with a new doctor.

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back on track

  1. StephenS says:

    The interpretation for me, after reading this, is that you are rocking your diabetes and other management, and if you can get an endo who is actually interested in treating you like a person, you’ll do even better. Thanks for the update!

Leave a Reply

