Still troubleshooting

So I thought I was in the clear. Thought we’d figured out this whole mess on the high blood sugars.

Then Saturday night rolls around. And I had a low carb dinner. Check my bg 2 hours later and I was 385. Ugh. Didn’t get TOO concerned yet, but corrected with the pump. Then I laid down on the couch and fell asleep .. woke up at 1:30am (luckily!) and was super duper thirsty. Checked my blood sugar .. and see that darn “HI” again.

Went from feeling defeated, to pissed, to frustrated… on top of being exhausted – it was still 1:30am after all.

Pulled my site, corrected with a syringe, and put a new site in a new area.

Oh, and checked my ketones and they were “Moderate”. Awesome. Now to start chugging water. Again, it’s 1:30am. *yawn*

Checked every 20-30 minutes to make sure it was coming down. Finally by 3am it was 251 so I felt comfortable enough to go back to sleep, but set an alarm to keep testing.

By 7am I was 103, with no ketones.

What a long night. But still have no idea why this keeps happening.

This morning I called Medtronic to ask them what else can I do to troubleshoot (because I still have yet to hear from my dr)

We went through the laundry list of questions and I’m not receiving error messages. I do not see kinks or air bubbles, etc. The only odd thing is the last 2 times I shot up to HI, I smelled insulin beforehand – even though I could not see or feel a leak.

She wanted to do the high pressure test, but I did not have the supplies with me to put on a new infusion set (I know, I know.. ) so we had to skip that. I told her at this point I’d just like to get a replacement pump because these highs are so random and hit so fast, and this was the only thing left on the troubleshooting list – I’m at a loss what else to try. So I should have a new (to me) pump tomorrow morning. My current one’s warranty expires in October, so I should hopefully be able to upgrade to the new pump and CGM at that point.

Fingers crossed this helps! Otherwise I will likely go back on shots for awhile until I can get things leveled back out. My A1C on Thursday is going to suuuuuuuuuuck. *sigh*

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Still troubleshooting

  1. StephenS says:

    Blame the diabetes, and your pump which may be defective. You would’ve been a lot worse without being so diligent all this time. Hope the new pump works well for you.

  2. Agreed with StephenS, as much as it sucks, you did the right thing, and your body thanks you.

  3. Shannon says:

    Thanks! I received the new pump last night. Have been great the last few days, and today running in the high 200s. Didn’t get a chance to switch out pumps last night but will definitely be doing it today! (And changed my site this morning!)

  4. Pingback: Beyond frustrated | No More Shots for Shannon

  5. Pingback: Back on track | No More Shots for Shannon

  6. Pingback: And we have a winner! | No More Shots for Shannon

Leave a Reply

