Found it!

Update on my high blood sugars .. I think we’ve found the culprit. And by we, I mean I. Because my Endo still has not returned any of my calls, nor has the CDE (who I also emailed.) But I plan to discuss this when I go in next week for my 3 mos visit – and will ask what should my expectations be.

So if you were not born with a uterus, I’ll apologize in advance if this is TMI …..

But in addition to my diabetes, I also have PCOS (Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome.) It’s a chicken and egg situation with diabetes… common to have both, but nobody really knows which one causes which. I was dx’d with it about a year after my T1 dx, but I’d never had regular cycles. Maybe once or twice a year, if that. My dr back then put me on birth control pills when I was 18 to regulate me.

So I haven’t been on bcp in years and my cycle will just show up out of nowhere sometimes. Last month it showed up and never left. For FOUR weeks. Typically, my bg’s will drop a few days before I start and then run a little on the higher side but not AS high as they have been running lately.

I was still running super high on Monday this week but my cycle finally ended Monday afternoon. Tuesday, I woke up in range and have stayed there ever since. Coincidence? Not likely. I’d gone from running high 200s+ to being in range just like that.

Talked to my OB/GYN today (SHE actually returns phone calls- imagine that! lol) and she said I likely did not ovulate last month, which caused my hormones to be out of whack, which would have an impact on my BG’s. Or she said I could have a cyst that was jacking with my hormones. She’s not concerned about it at this point, because I seem to be back on the right track. But she said if it happens again that she’ll have me come in to run labs.

But at least I seem to be on the other side of this latest bout of high sugars. It still frustrates me that I tried everything I was “supposed” to and did everything “right” to no avail. But I’m glad it’s better now and I can move forward! Next time I have a high number, it better be because of a totally carb-worthy meal for which I not SWAG well. 😉

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Found it!

  1. Scott E says:

    I honestly don’t understand most of this, and obviously can’t relate. (And as I was reading, I had to keep reminding myself that your twins weren’t just born last month!). But I’m glad you found the culprit, and hope you can find the appropriate response if and when it happens again.

    As for the unresponsive endo? Hope you can get an appropriate response to that too, though other than getting hit by a bus or being sequestered as a juror while conducting his/her (not sure) civic duty, it’s hard to think of one.

    • Shannon says:

      Scott, the twins will be TWO next month. That is crazy … And I’m not really sure what to make of the unresponsiveness, either. I was thinking as I was driving home on Monday – would it take me being admitted to the hospital to have a conversation? I was very clear with my concerns, frustrations, etc. when I left all 4 of my messages, and sent my email. I knew switching to a large practice that I’d lose the one on one that I had with my endo, but the pros at the time outweighed the cons. So I’ll be curious to see how the conversation goes next week.

  2. Pingback: Still troubleshooting | No More Shots for Shannon

Leave a Reply

