I’ve GOT this

In the 22+ years I have been diabetic, I can probably count on one hand how many times I’ve had to either miss/leave work because of my diabetes. Yesterday was unfortunately one of those days.

I was in the 160s before breakfast- I can live with that. But then around 10am I was at work and got up to walk down the hall and felt super sick to my stomach. Came back to my office and checked my blood sugar — 396. What the heck?? I had thought I smelled insulin earlier, but had already checked my site and my pump and nothing felt wet, and did not see any obvious leaks. So I bolused to correct (stupidly did not have my syringes with me) and finally by 10:45 I had to ask if I could go home. Which I hated to do that. But I was so sick to my stomach and could not even look at the computer monitor without feeling like I was going to be sick.

I actually cried on my way home. Not out of sadness, but out of frustration. I hated that I felt so out of control. I’ve been dealing with these highs for weeks now and have tried everything I’m “supposed” to try. And there seems to be no rhyme or reason for them.

I got home and was 280 so even though I was still high, I was at least coming down. I checked my ketones – trace. I drank a bunch of water, then laid down to try to rest (read: not throw up) while it was quiet before my boys got home.

Around 3pm I finally was 124 so I was feeling much better. The rest of the day was fine. I was able to take my boys outside to play and then I felt stupid for “wasting” the time I should have been at work.

I hate giving in to diabetes. And honestly, I rarely ever do. I probably tend to be too headstrong and I rarely ever let it get the best of me. But yesterday, it was diabetes-1, Shannon-0.

Not today, though. I’ve got this.

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’ve GOT this

  1. StephenS says:

    On the other hand, you got a little extra time to play with the boys… that’s a pretty good gift. Too bad you had to work so hard to get it. Hope today is better.

    • Shannon says:

      Thanks, Stephen! It WAS nice to have the extra time with my boys 🙂 And yesterday and today have been MUCH better. Crazy how things can change so drastically in such a short amount of time. 🙂 Hope you’re doing well!

  2. Pingback: Found it! | No More Shots for Shannon

Leave a Reply

