Still high

I have unfortunately not seen much improvement since my last post about having so many high’s. I hate this. I am doing everything “right”. I’m not snacking, I’m not eating sweets – not that I can’t eat those things, but when I’m trying to troubleshoot highs, it’s best to eat things that I can easily calculate the carbs. And yet I’m still hovering in the 200s.

I spoke to my CDE on Tuesday and she suggested some troubleshooting ideas.

New site in a completely new area – well this sounds great, but after 22+ years I don’t have any “new” ares. lol I’d gone years avoiding my abdomen because I’d built up so much scar tissue over the years and the infusion set never sticks well there, but the last 2 or so years I’ve been back to that area and it’s been working great. But this morning I went back to my thigh, which is one of my least favorite places. To me, it’s not very comfortable, it doesn’t stick as well, and I have twin boys that will be 2 next month that climb all over my lap so it gets in the way. BUT I put it there this morning so let’s see if that helps. My hips and tush don’t do as well, either, because I’ve found that my absorption is not great. I may try my arms next, but I’ve never ventured there – my CGM works GREAT there but I haven’t wanted to deal with the tubing, even though I have several friends who love that spot- so we’ll see.

She suggested a new vial of insulin – so I opened a new vial this morning, also.

Increased temp basal. Again.

I’m not sure what else to try. The highs don’t seem to make sense. This has happened before when I’m getting sick but usually only for a couple of days, and then I’d start showing symptoms- runny nose, etc. This time it’s been weeks and nothing. Numbers aren’t budging.

I see my Endo week after next for my 3 mos visit and I’m already bummed because I know my a1c will be shot.

Come on, diabetes … cut me some slack, please!

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Still high

  1. Patti B says:

    OMG! I think I could have written that! Even down to the last sentence about seeing my Endo and not wanting her to do the a1c because the recent highs will screw it up! Good luck and my your highs soon be a thing of the past!

  2. Pingback: Call Me Maybe | No More Shots for Shannon

Leave a Reply

