HI is not always a polite greeting

HILast night I had dinner with some girlfriends at a friend’s house.  We had turkey chili, I added some Fritos, and I had 2 cookies for dessert.  Bolused for everything I ate. Little bit of SWAG’ing involved with dinner, but the cookies were boxed and I was able to look at the actual carb counts. Felt pretty confident I’d hit it pretty close at least.  Also was drinking lemon water with dinner.

Then about an hour later… I was sitting at the table and everyone’s conversations became a blur. I felt like I was watching from afar, even though I was sitting right there. And then the nausea hit.  Crap.

Got up to check my BG and the meter said “HI”.  Uh oh.  For those that don’t know, our meters only show results up to 500 (normal is 80-120) so all I knew at that point was I was >500.  I stood up and said I needed to go home…

One of my sweet friends offered to (insisted on) following me home – which en route I was actually thankful for, because I wasn’t sure I was going to make it home without puking on the side of the road – was very thankful for her offer, and even more so that I only had a 5 minute drive home!

Called my husband to warn him what was going on, and he was meeting me in the driveway when I pulled up.

I never did actually throw up, but I ran to the bathroom several times, knowing that was when it was going to happen.  Never got above a “small” amount of ketones either, thankfully, which actually really surprises me.

Got home and yanked out my pump site to put it someplace else. And corrected old school with a syringe.  Reloaded my pump with the new set, and programmed the correction bolus into the pump and let 16 units of my expensive insulin drip into my sink.  Also forced myself to drink water even though even the thought of it made me want to gag.

Fast forward an hour and a half later … I’m finally “down” to 468.  Took an hour and a half to get below the “HI” reading .. which makes me wonder how in the world high was I??   And how in the world did I even GET that high in such a short amount of time????

Continued checking my BG every 30 min or so until I saw a pattern of it was coming down. And at that point, being night time, I had to worry about stacking. And that all the insulin would kick in at once and drop me TOO low.   I was very thankful it was a night my husband was in town.

Finally felt comfortable enough to go to bed around 1 am. With an alarm set for 2 am.   Then woke up at 6 am with a 139 bg.  Whew.

But still no clue wth happened?

Bottom line……  sometimes saying HI is not always a polite greeting … sometimes it’s a swift kick in the gut.  And a very UNwelcome greeting.

Coffee will be my friend while at work today. 😉

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to HI is not always a polite greeting

  1. Karen says:

    Wow, that really sucks. Equally sucky is that there is no good reason and who even knows why things like this happen. 😦 You’ve done your time – I hope diabetes plays nice for a good while now!!

    • Shannon says:

      Thanks, friend! Yea it super sucked. I totally felt hung over yesterday – and all I’d had to drink was water!! lol Too bad you and I can’t combine our numbers and meet in the middle!! haha

  2. Kerri. says:

    I’m checking in for #dblogcheck to say that I miss you and hope to see you soon!! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Still high | No More Shots for Shannon

  4. Pingback: Call Me Maybe | No More Shots for Shannon

  5. Pingback: Found it! | No More Shots for Shannon

Leave a Reply

