Over these highs

Lately I’ve had a lot of highs …. not super high, but definitely higher than I need to be.  At first I chalked it up to random highs. Then I thought it might be allergies trying to turn into something else (sinus infection, etc.) but then I’ve kept that at bay and haven’t gotten sick. Then it became my time of the month .. so I thought that might be it. But it’s been a couple of weeks now since they started creeping up.  It’s time to go back to normal.

After 22+ years with this disease, I find myself still apprehensive changing my basal rates without consulting my CDE/Endo — why is that??  I feel stupid even admitting that.  I guess even after all these years I’m still not 100% confident in my own management.

Last week, one evening I was in the high 200s at bedtime.  I thought, “Well, I need to do a temp basal because this is getting ridiculous.”  But I didn’t because my husband was traveling and even though I was wearing my CGM, I didn’t want to go too low overnight.  Then I woke up in range-ish the next day so I thought I’d give it another day.  Now here I am a couple of weeks into these crazy highs.  I’ve changed sites, opened new vials of insulin.  All that’s left is to increase my basals.  Because they aren’t being touched by any other changes I’ve made.

The biggest thing I’ve noticed is I’m correcting highs at night and still waking up high.   My CGM graph pretty much confirmed that.

So I’m going to bite the bullet and adjust my basals tonight.  And hopefully I’ll wake up in range in the morning 😉   Today I woke up 122 and the only thing I did differently last night was correct old school with a syringe, and changed my site.  But then it’s creeped up all day since then.

Here’s to hoping tomorrow is a fresh start! 🙂

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Over these highs

  1. Karen says:

    I can see how it would be scary to change your basals on your own, but I know you know what you are doing and you can handle it!! Just make tiny tweaks at a time. 🙂 Good luck!!!

    Weird thing is, I’m the exact opposite of you – I’ve been stuck with crazy lows. I’m just about ready to start tweaking my basals down.

    • Shannon says:

      I did end up tweaking them and I’ve been in perfect range ever since. I could kick myself for letting it go as long as I did!! But all I can do is move forward 🙂 Thanks, friend!!

Leave a Reply

