A Years’ Worth of Finger Sticks…

Happy New Year!!

So  in January of 2014, I posted that I was going to save every test strip I used for the year. And I did.  There were times that I had to dig around in my car or my floor to find one that I’d dropped, but I stuck with it (pun intended) and did it, and I’m proud to report that this picture accurately represents every time I poked my fingers in 2014.   I opted to switch to the Mason jar mid year because that fish bowl was too big to have sitting out on my counter 🙂

I asked my six year old and my husband to guess how many strips they think are in this jar …. anyone else wanna guess?  I’ll be counting them and posting the result after I get a few guesses.  The small pile to the left of the jar is a stack of 10 strips, to use as a reference point.

2014 Test Strips

2014 Test Strips

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Years’ Worth of Finger Sticks…

  1. Cassie says:

    1,991 sounds reasonable.

  2. Karen says:

    Wow, good for you for keeping up with saving all those test strips. It sure is quite a sight to see them all gathered up like that. I’ll guess that you have 2871 used test strips there.

Leave a Reply

