It’s all about that ….. weight?

I’ve toyed around with the idea of getting a food scale for many years now but have honestly never had/used one. I’ve always believed in the usage of it .. but just never took the time to get one.

A good friend of mine got me one for my birthday this month (shout out, Suzanne!) and I’ve been playing around with it. The biggest thing I’ve noticed is I’m not nearly good at SWAG’ing as I thought I was! Especially when it comes to bananas.

I’ve always counted a banana as 15-20 carbs. If it was a smallish banana, I counted 15, and if it was biggish, it was 20. Boy, was I wrong. Did you know most of those bad boys are 40ish carbs?? I sure didn’t. The first time I weighed one last week and it said 41 carbs, I about fell over. And to be honest, I was hesitant to actually bolus for that many carbs because I’d been eating that same size for .. well, ever, and surely I’d have noticed that I was high afterwards? Or maybe not. [Insert plug here for why logging/wearing a CGM is so helpful in managing diabetes.]

So bottom line is I’d been underestimating my carbs big time .. which in layman terms means I’ve been taking about 1/2 the amount of insulin I’d needed to cover a meal. To those of you non-diabetics reading this … I have to account for every.single.carb I put in my mouth, whether it’s a cup of coffee w/ milk or creamer, or a piece of fruit, or a slice of pizza. That factors into how much insulin my pump gives me. So it’s imperative that I get as accurate as possible. A lot of times it’s a gamble and a guessing game. But I do try to get as close as possible.

And I’m not going to lie and say I don’t ask my husband or even my six year old to help me add up carbs in my meals. There’s a reason I wasn’t a math major. haha #truestory

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

