Ignorance is not always bliss

I’m not really sure how to respond to this ….

I have a friend that works in a daycare.. She had a new child (10 mos old) start in her class a couple of weeks ago, and when the mom came in the week before to finalize everything and give instructions, etc., the mom mentioned she was T1 and she does not give her son any carbs, including rice cereal, because she does not want him to get diabetes like she did.

*crickets*

Granted, I do not know anything about this mom. I’ve never met her.. But my friend asked me if there was anything she could say to her (because my friend knew enough to know that was not necessarily accurate.) I told her that it is certainly the mom’s prerogative on whether or not to feed her child carbs. But that IMO it does not matter whether or not she gives him carbs – that will not determine whether or not he becomes diabetic. She could not give him carbs and he could still get it one day. My 16 years of being able to go trick-or-treating before my dx, is not the reason I found out I was diabetic at the age of 17.

I get that so many people are still incredibly ignorant (meaning just NOT knowledgeable) when it comes to diabetes. But this one kind of surprised me.

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ignorance is not always bliss

  1. Scott E says:

    Some people…even people with diabetes…just don’t understand or just haven’t been taught properly. You can’t really fault them if no one has tried to teach them.

    Personally, I’d be very concerned with this toddler’s ability to grow and thrive with such a limited diet. I’d bet that if the local child-protection-agency (whatever their name may be) heard about this, they’d intervene.

    • Shannon says:

      That’s the first thing I thought, too, Scott… that I myself was very ignorant for many years. I certainly wasn’t taught properly since I was dx’d at 17 …. too late for my mom to manage it and too young to properly manage it myself. And she certainly has the prerogative to choose her son’s diet … but I also agree with you – that his body needs some form of carbs … I am wondering if she’s going to skip milk if that’s the case, then? I think I’ll ask my friend how he’s doing. It’s been weighing on my mind for the last few weeks since she asked me about it.

  2. Autumn says:

    Maybe she just means processed carbs? I can’t see her denying her child fruits and veggies or beans/legumes. I would follow up and see what Mom is packing for the child to eat. Also, quite a few people with type 1 have avoided giving their child gluten/dairy for the 1st year just as a precaution. (A few studies have indicated that it may help prevent/delay type 1 for those already predisposed to it.)

Leave a Reply

