From the mouth of ….. a six year old

My 6 yr old son is extremely perceptive. He has always known mommy has diabetes, even if he can’t fully grasp what that means. But if we see/hear diabetes on anything he always points it out.

Lately he’s started asking more questions. He’ll ask why do I have diabetes. And will ask if I wished I didn’t have it. And will he or his brothers have it. Or he’ll say HE wishes I didn’t have it.

I just tell him that I’d obviously rather not have it, but that it’s ok that I do. And my husband chimed in on the conversation the other day and said “Mommy wishes she didn’t have it, but she’s been able to help a lot of people that she wouldn’t have known, if she didn’t have diabetes.” Wow. That right there is one of the #1 reasons I started blogging in the first place. But even before blogging, I was very active in my local JDRF chapter, and I was a Mentor and just wanted to spread the word. To try to change the myths so many people had and still have about this disease.

And the other day I pulled into Sonic to grab something for my son to eat for dinner as a treat, and I was undecided on whether or not I wanted to eat or wait till I got home. He finally asked why I hadn’t ordered yet.. I said “I am just trying to decide if I’m going to eat or not.”

He leaned up and put his 6 yr old little hand on my shoulder and said, “Mommy, it’s very important that you eat because of your diabetes. So I think you should eat dinner.” I almost cried. I explained that I would in fact EAT.. I just didn’t know if I wanted to eat at Sonic. 🙂

I heart him so much.

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to From the mouth of ….. a six year old

  1. I’m continually amazed at the things even my 3 year old has picked up about diabetes. The other day, we were packing a few snacks and things for going to the park and she said, “Mommy, make sure you bring me a juice box, and you a juice box, too, in case you need it for your low blood sugars.” It makes me happy that she realizes I have the need…but sad that I’ve obviously said something like that enough for her to catch on and repeat it.

Leave a Reply

