Purple is the new Black

I’ve had a couple of D sightings over the last week …

Last week we took a mini vacation for a road trip down south (in Texas, you can drive for literally 12+hours and still be in Texas, fyi) and one of the stops was an outlet mall. I was walking through one of the stores and saw a woman walk by who had the purple Medtronic pump just like mine. (Why is it that we get so excited when we see someone “like” us out there?? lol) So the next time she walked by, I said, “Hi” and pointed to my hip, where I was sporting mine on my jeans. She just said, “Oh, and yours is even purple, too.” and kept on walking. She apparently wasn’t nearly as excited as I was. haha

Then yesterday I was at Sprouts buying some vitamins for my boys and a young girl that worked there walked by me and said, “Oh you’re diabetic, too!” I said, “Yep. I assume you are, too?” (no pump in site on her – pardon the pun) and she said “Yes. I used to wear a pump, it was even purple just like yours. But I went back to the flex pens about a year ago.” I then did the nosey thing and asked her out of curiousity why she went off the pump (I’ve personally gone off of it before, too, so I know there are pros/cons for everyone.) She said that she’d given herself too much flexibility and was “going downhill fast” so she went back on the pens so she’d have to be more structured.

I told her I understood, I’d been there, and that I thought it was awesome that she’d recognized there was a “problem” and did something about it. She seemed super appreciative of my comments. Then we both went on our separate ways. 🙂

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Purple is the new Black

  1. kevinruess says:

    Like the woman you met at Sprouts, I too have gotten off the pump after 13 years of pumping and thus far have had the best BGs of my life (30 day meter ave currently 113 from 145). Nonetheless, one thing I do miss is that ability to instantly spot other Type 1s in public. That’s precisely how I knew my old co-worker was a type 1 and I’m so grateful for that as we each had someone in our office we could share our challenges with.

Leave a Reply

