I got this

So I have my new Endo appt scheduled for this week (Wednesday morning). I don’t know why I’m so nervous about it … but I am. I haven’t had to switch Endos in over 12 years. And even though I know this move is long overdo.. I’m still anxious/nervous about it. Part of the problem with the last one was I’d gotten too comfortable with him. I was basically only going to him in order to get my Rx’s. And honestly, I’m worried this one will challenge me – even though I know that is a GOOD thing. I’ve managed it myself for so many years, that I tend to get defensive when someone questions why I do something a certain way, or why I DON’T do something a certain way … and I recognize that that is not a good thing – I know it comes from a good place. Just being real.

I am actually in better control, diabetes-wise, than I have been in as long as I can remember. So I need to give myself a pep talk to walk in there on Wednesday with my head held up knowing I GOT this. And maybe it’s just the idea of not knowing what to expect that has me so anxious..? I don’t know.

What I do know is that this is going to be a good change. And that like I said, it’s WAY overdo.

Curious, though, for those that have changed doctors in the recent years, are there any specific questions I should ask HIM or be prepared for – I feel like this should be a two way street. I’ve always heard of it as a “diabetic team” and I’ve frankly never had one of those. :/

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I got this

  1. StephenS says:

    I’ve definitely been there. I know you’ll do fine. Just trust your instincts. You got this. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

