Education is Key

Today I had my annual eye exam – I actually missed last year’s exam (hey, I’d just given birth to TWO humans … I get a free pass lol) but am happy to report that again, my dr claims he sees “no signs of diabetes” — which is always nice to hear. 🙂 I’ve worn glasses since ’92, around 6 mos before my dx … but so far no “damage” has been done by this disease, and for that I am very thankful!

I had a couple of interesting conversations with both the nurse and the doctor, though.

First, the nurse was taking my information and asking questions.. it came up with the “what has changed since you were last year?” and my answer was “Well, I’ve had twin babies since then.” lol And then we talked about my diabetes, I mentioned I’ve been a Type 1 diabetic for almost 22 years now. She asked about my insulin pump .. I told her my A1C (when she asked what range I’m usually in) and at some point I forget what I said but her response was, “So you had to still keep taking insulin even after you had the babies?”

*sigh*

I was very nice, though. I paused and said, “Yes, with Type 1, I am insulin dependent and have to give myself insulin 24/7 for the rest of my life. It was not gestational diabetes, which typically goes away after pregnancy.”

So then the dr comes in later, and I’ve been going to him for almost 10 years now so it’s not like I’m a new patient … He was reading my info and said “So is your Endocrinologist happy with this A1C?” Huh? I am actually pretty proud of that number .. it’s lower than it’s been in a long time … when I answered “Yes” He said “Hmph. Ok.” What is THAT supposed to mean ???

Then he also asked about my insulin pump .. how much I take daily on average, etc. I told him and he said, “How’s the pump working out for you?” I told him it was great .. I’ve had it on this time for 7 years but I’ve worn it off/on for about 17 years. He said “Where do you have it now?” He was asking where it’s inserted… I was wondering how that is even the slightest bit pertinent to my EYE exam but I told him in my stomach and he seemed satisfied with that answer and we moved on ….

Sometimes I’m reminded of how uneducated people are about diabetes .. but hopefully I planted a couple of seeds today that both of them will remember the next time they’re talking to another diabetic. 🙂

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Education is Key

  1. Scott E says:

    No, your infusion set isn’t in your eyeball, but with all the D-stuff making its way to that part of the face (see: Google’s continuous glucose monitoring contact lenses), you can’t blame him for taking an interest. The eyes are his territory,

  2. kerrii says:

    I hear u! I get frustrated with the confusion so many people have about type 1… I think there should just be 2 totally different names for 1 & 2 already!

Leave a Reply

