Changes are a-comin’ …

Well… I posted recently about wanting to find a new Endo, and regardless of how I want to look at it, the decision was made FOR me.

I had my last checkup with him about 3 weeks ago, and it went well. Everything looked “great” and I was good to go for another 3 months. Then about a week after my appt, I got a letter in the mail from his office… saying that he could no longer “provide medical services” to me due to my “not paying my medical expenses.” The back story on that all goes back to an insurance glitch from when my insurance changed last year. It was not a large amount at all. And he never said a word about it when I was in his office. Neither did his staff. In fact, his wife, who works at the front desk, asked me about it only twice last year and both times I explained it was an insurance glitch and I was going back and forth with them to get it taken care of – both times she said no problem.

BUT I’m looking at this as a blessing.. because I was obviously having a difficult time pulling off that proverbial Band-Aid. 🙂 In fact, I’ve already booked an appt for later this month with the practice that I’ve been referred to by several other T1s. It wasn’t with the two doctors I have personally heard about but I’m sure the one I’m seeing is just as good, and if anything he’s GOT to offer better care than I’ve received the last 14 years…. (Side note – my “current/former” Endo is a very nice person… just not providing anywhere near the level of service that I feel I need. He basically just writes my Rx’s for me. And as my friend pointed out recently, I could go to a regular GP and get that done if I had to. But I want more than that. I deserve more.)

Stay tuned … fingers crossed this goes well. I’m nervous to start over after almost 14 years.. but I do feel at peace with it, and am looking forward to a new chapter and stepping up my diabetes management. 🙂

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

