Witch doctor? Maybe.

Over the last few months, I had some friends that had started using essential oils and although I was happy for them that their families seemed to be healthier as a result, I kept thinking it sounded awfully “witch-doctor-y” to me … but to each their own, right? πŸ˜‰

Until my hubby got sick one weekend and was throwing up, high fever, the works. My friend offered to bring over some peppermint oil to try, and by that point my hubby was so sick that he was willing to try anything. We used the oil, and within the hour, his fever broke and he did not throw up anymore. I thought, “Hmm… maybe there’s something to this after all. Or maybe it was just a fluke.”

I kept thinking about the oils, and seeing firsthand how they were helping my friends and their families … so I decided to jump on the bandwagon and bought the starter kit (honestly, I initially only bought the kit so I could get the diffuser). I cannot even explain how that has been by far THE best investment I’ve made all year.

My 6 yr old son has really bad allergies. As a result, the drainage almost always goes to his chest, which causes breathing problems, which results in breathing treatments and steroid Rx’s. And he’s very prone to strep and ear infections. Since we’ve started using oils on him every day, he’s not been on any antibiotics, nor has he had any OTC meds. The dr wanted to started him on a daily Zyrtec regimen, but I’ve been using oils on him instead … and he’s been fine. One week I ran out of one of the oils I use on him every day (Thieves) and that week he ended up in the ER for allergy-induced asthma. I’ll be making sure to NOT run out of that one again anytime soon. πŸ™‚

My one year old twins have stayed healthy, also. I rub lavender on their feet every night. And if they pull on their ears, I rub lavender (and sometimes lemon) around the outside of their ears.. and they’re both healthy. Last week, they all 3 were having allergy issues and even though I’d been hitting it hard with the oils, I took them to the dr just to be on the safe side. He said all three were fine – nobody left there with any Rx’s or meds. πŸ™‚ I was very proud of that. One of the twins had a fever out of nowhere earlier this week that spiked up to 104 – with NO symptoms of anything going on – and I took him to the after hours clinic. The dr told me that it was viral, nothing we can do but keep an eye on him, but said to be prepared for it to turn into an infection – ears, upper respiratory, something. But I came home, used peppermint oil to bring the fever down, gave him a lukewarm bath, and diffused and applied Thieves… and he’s been FINE. It’s crazy, I know.

But best of all.. I’VE managed to stay healthy. As most of you know, having a busted pancreas also means having a jacked up immune system. I fought off a stomach bug a couple of weeks ago, and was feeling better in less than 24 hours – AND nobody else managed to get sick. The biggest thing for me is I have also been able to wean myself off of Lexapro (for anxiety) with the help of oils.

**Disclaimer- I am NOT a doctor. I do not in any way, shape, or form, think that the oils have “cured” anyone in my family of any ailment. But I do think they have helped lessened our exposure to germs, and have also helped with boosting our immune systems. I’m only going by the fact that at least one of us seemed to be sick all.the.time before starting the oils.

If you wanna know more about them, or how they have helped us, just let me know. I’d love to share more stories and/or give you suggestions on how to help you or your family. πŸ™‚

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

