Change is (going to be) good

For those of you that have followed my blog for awhile, you know that I have been talking about needing to find a new Endo .. but that I haven’t yet done it. For no reason other than I like some of the office staff my dr has. But the main person I like is now in the front office (used to be his nurse) and she’s about to go on maternity leave. And I like that it’s a small office – so I always can talk to a person (only 5 people work there, including the dr).

But there have been many reasons I’ve needed to switch for a long time now. As in for YEARS I’ve needed to switch. I’ve basically managed my own diabetes for the past 12ish years.. he just writes my Rx’s. (I know.. I know … ) But now he’s not even doing that well, so I think this most recent issue has become the straw that’s breaking the proverbial camel’s back.

When I last saw him in March, I had recently made some changes to my diet – I had started using HerbaLife and it was doing great things for me (still am using it, but that’s not the point .. ) He’d always written my Humalog Rx’s for 100 units per day. I usually took 75-80, and this gave me a cushion for “off” days. I mentioned during this appt that since starting the shakes, I was down to taking 50-60 units per day. But I also mentioned that I’d just recently made these changes (meaning- I hope this good luck streak continues, but who knows.)

I get to the pharmacy to drop off my Rx and that’s when I noticed he’d written the Rx for FIFTY units/per day.. Huh?? Why on earth would you do that? We did not talk about decreasing the Rx. So instead of dropping it off, I called the dr’s office to have them change it before I drop it off. When I called, he agreed to up it to 75…. what?? It’s ALWAYS been 100u. Why are you messing with my LIFE SUPPORT???? *sigh* But I was running low on my supply at home, and I was still averaging 50-60u/day so I turned in the 75u Rx.

Fast forward almost 3 months and I’m getting ready for my next appt. Except that I’m now on my last vial. I’d had a stomach bug and just lots of “off” days … which resulted in me going through that insulin faster than he apparently anticipated. *sigh*

So I called the office to see if I can pick up a new Rx – my appt is scheduled for June 9th, can I go ahead and get a new one .. BUT I need this one written for the 100u like it’s ALWAYS been. (I still have no idea why he’d cut it in HALF without talking to me about it … but whatever) And get this ….. his compromise was he’d call in two vials to get me through till my appt and THEN he’ll write a new Rx for 9 more vials at my appt …. huh??? I’m not sure if he was worried I wasn’t going to come in for my appt or what … But this one did me in. You can’t jack around with my INSULIN … it’s the ONLY Rx I take that I canNOT go without ….

So I’ve been calling around to a couple of local Endos. They are in bigger practices, so I won’t get the one on one treatment that I’ve grown accustomed to. BUT I have to believe that there are actual dr’s that will manage this disease with/for me .. and not leave me out here doing it alone. It’d be interesting to go to one that has a CDE, also. I haven’t seen one of those since my Dx in ’92!

Wish me luck … I’m not a fan of change. But I’m going to go through with it this time …. And I expect y’all to hold me to it. 😉 Stay tuned ….

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Change is (going to be) good

  1. StephenS says:

    Good luck Shannon. For what it’s worth, my endo is in a big practice, and she’s fantastic. Though I haven’t seen a CDE since my diagnosis either. I don’t know if that means I’m doing okay, or it means I’m missing out. I wish you all the best in your search. I know you’ll be glad you made the change.

  2. Scott E says:

    Good luck! I’m interested to see how this turns out. (As for your comment on finding doctors to manage this “with/for” me, you may find a “with”, but good luck finding a “for”!)

  3. Soonds like you’re to the point where the pain of staying the same is greater than the pain of change

  4. Karen says:

    I think it’s great that you are taking this leap!! Best of luck – I know this WILL be a great change!

Leave a Reply

