Stuff

My 5 year old is an old soul, as a friend of mine recently pointed out to me. And he says some pretty insightful things.

Tonight he saw the boxes that my recent pump supplies came in, and he asked me what was in the boxes.

Me: My insulin pump supplies and test strips. The stuff I need for my diabetes.

A: Why do you need so much stuff to take care of your diabetes?

Me: Well…. It’s a complicated disease, so it takes a lot of “stuff” for mommy to manage it.

A: Can you ask the boss of diabetes why you need so much stuff? Who IS the boss of diabetes anyway?

Me: Well… There’s not really a “boss” of diabetes. I have to take care of it myself.

A: There’s always a boss. Someone has to make the important decisions.

I found that pretty interesting. Think about it…. Technically I am the “boss” of my diabetes, as is any other diabetic. But there are many other decision makers that influence HOW I’m able to manage my disease.

There is the FDA.

Beloved insurance companies – after all they get to decide what “stuff” I get to use to manage my diabetes. And how much of that “stuff” I get to use.

Doctors – they write the Rx’s for us so we can even get the “stuff”.

Pharma companies – they do the research and decide what’s acceptable “stuff” that we need to use in other to manage our own disease.

Device companies – they decide how the devices should work .. Whether it’s blood sugar meters, insulin pumps, CGM’s, etc. it’s only been somewhat recently that these companies are listening to those of us that actually use their “stuff” and using our input when making future changes, etc. this is huge that we are having a voice when it comes to these things. After all, I wear my pump 24/7/365, and for me, personally, I like knowing that Medtronic is listening to others like me about what improvements need to be made, etc.

Unfortunately answers aren’t always as simple to grown ups as they can be to a 5 year old…. but still a good question nonetheless. 🙂

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stuff

  1. Scott E says:

    Tony and Angela have been trying to figure out Who’s The Boss? for years, and I don’t think they ever figure that out. And as complex as their TV relationship was, it came nowhere close to the complexity of diabetes.

    A very valid question, and I think you’ve got the right answer. You’re the boss, but even the boss can’t buy something that’s not for sale. As the boss, by recommendation is that you just fire diabetes and be done with it.

Leave a Reply

