Relief

20130820-095350.jpg

I have never been so happy to see a perfect number on my meter.

And that’s because it wasn’t mine … it was my five year old’s blood sugar.

He’s been exhibiting some new behaviors lately that had me thinking something was off.. He’s been having severe tantrums – he gets downright angry sometimes. And anyone who knows my son, knows he’s an extremely laid back and sweet natured little boy (and I’m not just saying that because I’m biased.. well, of course I AM biased, but he really is.) 🙂

I’m also always very aware of how many times a day he asks for water. And how many times a day he goes potty. That just comes with the territory of having T1D myself … it’s always in the back of our minds that we’ll pass this on to our children.

So yesterday I let him eat the candy he’d been asking for … waited a while, and asked him if I could check his blood sugar. He was surprisingly ok with it. The only part he pushed back on was he didn’t want to wash his hands. haha

I can’t even explain my joy when that beautiful 104 popped up on the screen.

So for now, I’ll just chalk up his behavior to all the adjustments going on – I’m now a stay at home mom, he has 4 month old twin brothers, and he starts kindergarten next week. Lots going on .. but at least we aren’t adding diabetes to the list. I’m still debating having him tested through TrialNet… but not yet.

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Relief

  1. Scott E says:

    Oh Shannon, I know the feeling of worry and the feeling of relief. In this case, I’m glad you experienced both and not just one. I remember the mental preparations — getting myself ready for the “what if” before the first time I checked one of my kids. I don’t know if the back-of-your-mind fear ever goes away, but I sure hope it gets easier!

    For now, be grateful for this perfect number. And I’d love to hear your thoughts (and decisions) on TrialNet someday…

    • Shannon says:

      I had to psych myself up to test him. I put it off for several days and yesterday decided to go ahead and do it. I told him that was a perfect number and he got excited and said, “Thanks!!” 🙂

  2. Stacey D. says:

    I can only imagine the worry – I don’t have children of my own but do worry about my niece & nephews. So I understand a little. I’m so glad for you that the result was good!

  3. Shannon says:

    I know exactly how you feel. Though I don’t have diabetes my younger brother does and my daughter was diagnosed when she was five. There has always been that fear in the back of my mind that one of my other kids will get it. So when my son started drinking a lot and going to the bathroom a lot last year I didn’t hesitate to check him. Unfortunately his result was not perfect, but HI. The weird thing is we had caught him so early that the doctors at the hospital had doubts that he was Type 1 as his BS had gone down a bit by the time we had gotten to the hospital!! If only I had been wrong…

    I have thought about having myself and my other two children tested but I don’t really see the benefit of it. Knowing that we have the antibodies will not stop them or me from getting it and I think it would just cause more stress.

    I’m glad you had a good result and I hope that continues for you!!

    • Shannon says:

      Thank you! I wish you’d had a better result, too 😦 I feel similar about getting my children tested. I almost don’t want to live with that daunting fear of not knowing when it’ll hit, ya know? I’d rather assume they won’t get it, while at the same time, knowing what red flags to look out for.

  4. Kelley says:

    Oh phew! I’m so glad the number turned out to be so good 🙂 I don’t have any kids yet so I can’t quite imagine what you were feeling but I’m glad everything’s OK!

Leave a Reply

