Conservation

Not talking about water… but my diabetes supplies.

After having the twins in April, we decided I’d not return to work and I’m now officially a SAHM (Stay at Home Mom). One problem with that is insurance. My insurance through my former employer wasn’t the cheapest.. but we had good coverage. I did not have to pay a copay for my test strips or my insulin (even though for both, I did have to switch brands as I was entering my 3rd trimester.) But either way .. that was money we did not have to spend.

I also did not have a deductible, which came in very hand when it came to ordering my insulin pump supplies.

We are now all on my husband’s insurance, and we will have a huge deductible, so I’m finding myself trying to conserve my supplies as much as possible. My insulin, test strips, but especially my pump supplies. I’m wearing a site now that isn’t burning, the tape hasn’t peeled off yet (which is surprising is in this Texas heat), but I need to change it because I’ve noticed my numbers have ran higher-than-I’d-like since putting it on a few days ago.

Is it “bad” that even though I know I need to change it (and don’t worry, I will) I don’t WANT to change it, because it’ll burn an infusion set, which puts me one infusion set closer to having to fork over that big deductible.

Ugh. I am thankful and fortunate to live in a country where we have insurance availability-I’ve heard of many people around the world that don’t have that option. But I do hate that we have the restrictions we have on it. :/ We are down to one income and even though we should be saving money by not paying for daycare, we’re basically swapping the daycare money out for insurance/medical supply costs.

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Conservation

  1. a1conceive says:

    I feel the same way. I hesitate to change sites even if they are uncomfortable (which lead to a giant bruise a few weeks ago). One thing I’ve heard of is using injections for large boluses to extend the time for your sites. But doesn’t really solve the issue if you are running higher than normal and need a site change anyway. :o(

    It’s frustrating how expensive it is, even with insurance. My husband and I are currently discussing if me being a SAHM is even possible when we have a baby and it’s really crappy that “diabetes supplies” has to even be factored in to the budget….and even crappier what a chunk of the budget they (and meds!) are!

  2. StephenS says:

    I might have some extra supplies, if they’re compatible with what you’re using. Shoot me a note if you’re interested.

  3. a1conceive says:

    Hey! Not sure what pump you’re on, but I have a box of Medtronic supplies if you are interested. I think about 3 months worth. I’m on animas now, so I have no need. Shoot me an email if interested a1conceive@gmail.com

  4. Gabriela says:

    Shannon, I couldn’t agree more. Even with insurance the out of pocket costs are so high. And we don’t really have a choice do we? We NEED these meds. My husband has had several jobs over the past 5 years and I have had to study each policy to learn about deductible and durable medical equipment etc… it can be exhausting. I hate to say it but some days I wonder if there will ever be a cure. It would put the insurance companies and Medtronic out of business and it’s such a profit empire…

  5. Kelley says:

    My husband and I have a small two person company and we have horrible insurance! Well I should say it’s good insurance but we have a ridiculously high deductible (you don’t even want to know) Funny thing though is that I have found the quicker I get to my deductible, the sooner things start to be “free” so I do the opposite of conserving because I know throughout the year, my lovely diabetes will find a way to reach the high deductible 😛

Leave a Reply

