Better Together

Our church is finishing up an initiative where another church is joining our congregation … the name of the initiative is “Better Together”. We have been wearing a blue bracelet that says that, also.

Today, I looked down at my wrist and saw:

Better together

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And thought… “Wow – how did I not make that connection before now?”

It’s right next to my You Can Do This bracelet … AND it’s blue.  (that makes sense if you’re diabetic) 😉

This week was the Friends for Life Children with Diabetes conference. So this epiphany seems timely 🙂  Those of us in the DOC support each other… we listen, we offer advice (strictly based on our personal knowledge, not medical advice), we laugh, we “get it”.. we look out for one another.  A prime example – one of my friends, Sara, was flying home from the conference last night and said that her flight was delayed and she may miss her connecting flight.  Some of us started asking questions – are you ok? Do you have your supplies/food, etc.?  (She was fine, and made it home- finally.)

Before finding the DOC, I managed my diabetes pretty status quo, but not nearly as well as I could have been doing. And as I’ve said many times before..my life has changed. And because of finding this community of other people just like me, I am so much healthier, from a diabetes standpoint, than I’ve ever been.

Bottom line …

We ARE better together.

And we CAN do this.

 

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Better Together

  1. Sara says:

    Thanks for looking out for me! Was never so happy to see the lights of Vegas that night!!

  2. Kelley says:

    Ditto on Scott’s comment-I love this 🙂

Leave a Reply

