Live vs Have

I was typing a blog post the other day and I had initially typed so-and-so “… who has diabetes.” I sat and looked at the screen for a few minutes and thought, that’s not right .. and changed it to so-and-so “.. lives with diabetes.”

In my opinion (I’m sure others will disagree) but I don’t HAVE diabetes.. I live with it. It’s like being in a relationship – think of it sort of like a roommate. One that you have a love/hate relationship with 24/7. And by 24/7, I mean twenty.four.seven. With no break, whatsoever.

I honestly can’t think of a time when I’ve told someone “I have diabetes.” I’ve said “I’m diabetic”. But you have a cold. Or you have the flu. Or you have chicken pox. You don’t have diabetes – those other conditions go away … diabetes doesn’t. Living with someone/thing is much more intimate. Diabetes works itself into most aspects of my life, whether I like it or not. It’s like having to consider someone else’s opinions before you do something …. for example, “If I eat that piece of cake, how will it affect my diabetes?” is sort of like, “if I go out with this person, how will this other person feel about it?” See what I mean? It’s like a relationship.

And not a relationship that any one of us asked to be in. But it is what it is so the best thing to do is make the best of it. Be the bigger person and do whatever it takes to make the other person (in this situation, meaning diabetes) happy. Be on our best behavior. Sucks, but it’s what needs to be done in order to keep the peace and to have a long-lasting relationship. 😉

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Live vs Have

  1. I think when I talk about it I also say “I live with type 1 diabetes” or something along those lines. Very similar to what you say above.

  2. Kelley says:

    Well said “Living with someone/thing is much more intimate” I can’t even think now about what I tell people…I think I usually just say I’m diabetic but I can’t really recall…I’ll have to pay more attention 😉

Leave a Reply

