Epic Fail

I had an epic fail night recently. And it was one of those nights that was so incredibly frustrating because I felt like I was doing everything right, but diabetes just was not going to cooperate, no matter how hard I tried to make it.

I cooked a healthy, low carb meal for dinner and around 11 pm I checked my BG and I was 238, which was a surprise. So I corrected using my pump’s bolus wizard (which rarely fails me.)

At midnight, after feeding one of the babies, I felt weird. Didn’t feel low, just felt off. So I checked my BG and it was 49. What the what? I didn’t believe it because I didn’t FEEL low. Came back as 46. So I chomped downed 4 glucose tabs and a 1/2 peanut butter sandwich. (Side note – I don’t normally bolus for this kind of snack when it’s used to treat a low, but I’ll blog separately about that.)

An hour later (so for those keeping up, that puts us at 1am) I was 56. Huh? What the heck is going on?

So I ate more glucose tabs, another 1/2 sandwich, and 2 juice boxes. By now I’m a sweaty hot mess. So I just needed to do what I could to get it up, and get it back up fast. By this time I’m beyond exhausted and knew that at least one, if not both, of the babies would be waking up soon, so I needed to get my act together quickly.

By 2 am I was 100. Perfect. Finally felt comfortable enough to go to bed, but making sure to put my tester and more juice boxes by my bed.

One of the babies woke up at 4 am, but my husband took that shift, after all I’d gone through (which he was awake for, and other than bringing me juice boxes, there wasn’t much he could do) the last few hours. So I was able to go back to sleep till 7 am. At that BG check, I was in the 450s. What the heck???

Why in the world did it take so long for all of that to hit me and skyrocket my sugar??

To put things in perspective for my non-diabetic friends, for a regular ol’ low blood sugar, usually I’d have 3-4 glucose tabs OR a juice box OR a 1/2 peanut butter sandwich.

I corrected that first high … and an hour later, I was STILL in the 450s. So I changed my pump site and corrected again. Took several hours for it to come down but it finally did. Never got back to “perfect” but I’ll take a 183 over a 454 any day.

Days like that suck. We all know what’s supposed to happen – you count carbs, you take enough insulin to cover those carbs, and you should stay in a normal range after you eat. But that actually rarely happens. There are so many factors … are there “hidden” carbs/sugars in whatever you’re eating? Is your ratio programmed correctly in your pump? Was there more fat in the meal that won’t kick in till later? Did your pancreas decide to out of the blue spit out random amounts of insulin? Have you had any activities that day that could hit later and lower your BG? So many factors.

So all we can do is do what we’re “supposed” to do .. and hope for the best. Sometimes we’ll nail it and hit a home run.. other times, we’re in the dug out and beating ourselves up. But then we get up and do it all over again the next day. Because that’s what we have to do. 🙂

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Epic Fail

  1. Rhonda B says:

    Ugh, I hate those days where you go wonky and it’s a roller coaster of what-the-heck. Believe me, you are not alone! HUGS

  2. Yep, days like that totally suck, and make you so unsure of things!

    Sorry you had to experience such a rough ride.

  3. Kelley says:

    Grr those days are so frustrating! Love what you said in your last paragraph-wise words!

Leave a Reply

